[SUGESTION] set in events object properties to global yes/no

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Globals 2.0
$3.99 USD
Globals 2.0 stores and group variables. You can also load and save data (variables) from/to JSON files.
  • Hi, i dont do this before. Im looking for solution how do i set this in events

For example if i pick up item in game this item is change position to slot

So when item is overlapping object slot, his 'global' should set to 'Yes'

but when i drop item his 'global ' should set to 'NO'

(When i change levels/layouts and when 'global' is 'yes' item is always on slot position and is when i change layout)

• I am not an expert on game engine development but I can tell that your suggestion might be hard to implement. Also the memory management, It might make issues. But this is only a thought of mine.

But it will still be useful, +1.

• Ashley please read this thread and answer, its possible to add this to next relase?

• Silly question.

Why not just not use global?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • newt how for example ?

• Oddly enough, an array that is global.

• newt you give me hope, can you prepare capx example ??

• Nope, it's pretty basic stuff.

On the start of the layout you check the global array for values.

You then create objects based on those values.

• newt I never use arrays... someone create inventory slots using arrays i do it this same using only events, thanks but will not use

• I recommend using two objects, a non-global that is destroyed, and a sprite object in your inventory with multiple frames to represent what you picked up (which is global). Instead of moving an object, use variables (or again, arrays/dictionaries) to reference it.