[Suggestion] Lock/Unlock Rooms (Multiplayer)

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jul 19, 2016 11:41 am

If a game is, say, for 4-5 players, and people in a round want to play with 4 players, nothing prevents a 5th player to join. It is very difficult to work around this issue. That's why manual "Lock room" and "Unlock room" actions would be very useful. Is this possible to implement?
B
29
S
14
G
6
Posts: 160
Reputation: 5,752

Post » Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:09 pm

@Lasmelan

in the Join Room code in the signalling group you can limit the number of peers by putting a value in the last field - max peers.

But, I guess if you have max peers set at 5, and a group of 4 decide to play, then you would have to have the host automatically kick out a 5th peer...
B
94
S
33
G
20
Posts: 438
Reputation: 17,615


Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:55 am

Hey Las,

If you want to launch the game early all you do create a new room with a specific name (private room) and have those players go through the signal server again to join it. The max players is set to the amount of people in room before launching.

It's not as easy as simply locking and unlocking the room but it works.
ImageImage
B
112
S
23
G
7
Posts: 1,064
Reputation: 12,787

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 12:46 pm

GenkiGenga wrote:If you want to launch the game early all you do create a new room with a specific name (private room) and have those players go through the signal server again to join it. The max players is set to the amount of people in room before launching.


I thought about that. Never actually tried it out though. Thanks for the suggestion.
B
29
S
14
G
6
Posts: 160
Reputation: 5,752


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests