Suggestion: Multi-Condition Events

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:57 am

Would it be possible to have events like this:



Where there are multiple condition 'groups' in an event? A bit like the 'OR' condition in CC, but I think actually having a visual divider would be a lot more intuitive visually. This is pretty much the only thing that's quite messy to do in the current event-sheet system.
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,324

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 9:30 am

As far as I know this is completely legal. I also have a lots of multi conditions triggering some of my things ...

But that is no OR, that's more like an AND .. the OR would be a seperatoin of D is down and A is down =)

Cheers
B
17
S
4
G
4
Posts: 94
Reputation: 3,058

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:19 am

Hence the little 2 pixels line between the conditions, in opposition with direct touching events as it is now.

For having discussed with Ashley on IRC about "else" and "or" events, it appears they are tricky to implement, and that's why they've been postponed for now.
So eventually they will come, and indeed for now a "or" condition is pretty tricky to implement with an event workaround.

As far as I'm concerned, I've tried as much as possible to avoid having to have to use a "or" event with the organising of the code and the logic used.

Apparently, such a 'visual' division isn't as intuitive as you thought cow_trix, judging by Spades' answer ^^
I also feel a "or" condition as it is in CC would work nicer.

EDIT: Coming to re-read the whole, I understand the shade you mean by "A bit like".
In fact, instead of having event 1 "Key D is down, do this" and event 2 "Key A is down, do this same thing" they would act as "parralel" events, sharing the same actions.
In this case then yes, your suggestion works and would be a nice addition indeed.
Especialy if it is counted as a single event.Kyatric2011-10-22 10:24:37
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
253
S
86
G
42
Posts: 7,035
Reputation: 59,185

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:23 am

It's actually surprising how unnecessary the 'or' condition is. You can get around it really efficiently using sub-events.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,440

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:32 am

[QUOTE]EDIT: Coming to re-read the whole, I understand the shade you mean by "A bit like".
In fact, instead of having event 1 "Key D is down, do this" and event 2 "Key A is down, do this same thing" they would act as "parralel" events, sharing the same actions.
In this case then yes, your suggestion works and would be a nice addition indeed.
Especialy if it is counted as a single event.[/QUOTE]

Signed
B
17
S
4
G
4
Posts: 94
Reputation: 3,058

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 1:48 pm

I think the easiest way to implement this is a special kind of "OR block" that runs if any of the conditions in the block are true. This is much simpler to implement and is straightforward to use, and prevents you making weird events like "A OR OR B OR OR OR".

Still, it's fairly easy to workaround, and functions will make it even easier.Ashley2011-10-22 13:48:54
Scirra Founder
B
362
S
216
G
75
Posts: 23,067
Reputation: 180,321

Post » Sun Oct 23, 2011 7:47 am

Yay functions!
B
135
S
65
G
17
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,727

Post » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:18 am

I realized that most of my necessity for families in my entry for the competition could also be solved with this proposal.

If you think about it, this...


...is the equivalent of this...


...but more readable, and quicker, and easier to manage.

When you have lots of these duplicate events (like in my entry), this can certainly make a big difference when managing them.
Scirra Employee
B
130
S
45
G
16
Posts: 706
Reputation: 15,940

Post » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:57 am

[QUOTE=Ashley] I think the easiest way to implement this is a special kind of "OR block" that runs if any of the conditions in the block are true.[/QUOTE]

What about calling it ANY?
Moderator
B
89
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,467

Post » Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:03 am

[QUOTE=Arima] [QUOTE=Ashley] I think the easiest way to implement this is a special kind of "OR block" that runs if any of the conditions in the block are true.[/QUOTE]

What about calling it ANY?[/QUOTE]

Good idea!

It's hard to implement "OR" condition in plugin at current framework -- it's an "AND block".
B
99
S
22
G
191
Posts: 4,173
Reputation: 110,709

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests