Suggestion: Object Swap

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Mar 18, 2012 11:49 pm

Maybe there is a way already to do this and I'm just ignorant, but..

Object1 set X = 100 [Copy-Paste][To change to object2 I need to delete and create a completely new event]

I would be nice to have a way to simply swap an object for another without actually changing the event.

Thanks for consideration
B
29
S
9
G
6
Posts: 525
Reputation: 8,294

Post » Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:33 am

+1 for swapping/replacing the targets of actions or events rather than creating from scratch each time. :)

This would be a time saver indeed.
Image
B
27
S
9
G
5
Posts: 487
Reputation: 11,939

Post » Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:44 am

I think the latest release made this a bit easier, but I still agree with a 'swap object' command.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Fri Jun 29, 2012 5:58 pm

I think this can be done using families, but I am still on the free version so I cannot verify. I need this mechanic for my game as well.

I need to accompish:
When X object is clicked destroy Y object and Create Z object specified by X, Z Object now performs events that Y object previously did.
B
6
S
3
G
1
Posts: 102
Reputation: 1,379

Post » Fri Jun 29, 2012 6:11 pm

@Alexixiv
I think this thread is about swapping objects in the event sheet inside C2, and not during runtime.

Also, you've already posted this question in the "How do I" section. Someone will help you if they have the time, there's no need to double-post.
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Post » Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:40 pm

[QUOTE=Nimtrix] @Alexixiv
I think this thread is about swapping objects in the event sheet inside C2, and not during runtime.

Also, you've already posted this question in the "How do I" section. Someone will help you if they have the time, there's no need to double-post.[/QUOTE]

Yes you are right, I found this post after I had created my topic and just wanted to maximize visibility. I was confused about the purpose of this topic, sorry for the spam, and thank you for pointing that out :)
B
6
S
3
G
1
Posts: 102
Reputation: 1,379

Post » Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:42 pm

I still think this would be a good idea ;)
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:26 pm

It's been on our todo list for ages. We'll get to it eventually. In the mean time since this post was made you can copy, paste, edit, back, back, pick a new object, forward, forward, done. It's a few more steps than necessary but saves you re-typing each parameter.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: R0J0hound, Televangelist, TRMG and 7 guests