Suggestion on code completion

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:19 pm

It's not a big deal really, but sometimes (as a coder I guess) I keep feeling I want to press "ctrl+space" to auto complete a word (such as global/local variables [no '.' used]). ;) At the very least, this would greatly help speed up the global/local variable selection.
Jack of all trades, and master of some.
B
29
S
9
G
7
Posts: 174
Reputation: 7,601

Post » Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:40 am

Yup, on the todo list.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

Post » Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:17 am

>I want to press TAB to auto complete a word :]
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473

Post » Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:25 am

No, not a good idea. What if a word is already completed, and you hit tab for the next parameter box. ;) Besides, ctrl+space is a common sequence the developers know about already.JoyfulDreamer2013-04-18 03:27:10
Jack of all trades, and master of some.
B
29
S
9
G
7
Posts: 174
Reputation: 7,601

Post » Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:16 pm

Hmm yeah...I may have forgotten this isn't a text console program :p
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473

Post » Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:26 pm

;) Not just that, but, for example, If I have variables x, y, xDir, and yDir, and I type 'x' and press TAB, which variable is selected? Ambiguity ensues! ;)

Edit: Just to add to my first post, another reasoning is because commonly I type the first 2-3 letters to single out a specific group of variables (I may have tons in a game), and if I type a wrong char by mistake, I lose the code completion pop-up and have to back up and retype the period! :/ Anyhow, glad it's on the to-do list! :DJoyfulDreamer2013-04-18 23:30:42
Jack of all trades, and master of some.
B
29
S
9
G
7
Posts: 174
Reputation: 7,601


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Elliott, supreme676, zenox98 and 12 guests