suggestion : order of the results of the "search" option

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:32 am

When I type to select an object (when creating an action or a condition), if I type "sorcerer" and I have two objects "sorcerer" and "HPsorcerer", HPsorcerer will always come first, so that I am forced to still select it with my mouse despite I writed down the whole object name.

In my opinion, the first results should be the objects which have their first letter the same as the first letter that I wrote down, not the objects which names come first in the alphabetical order.

This would avoid me to have "enemyTouchBox" come first when I write "touch", and thus to have me grab my mouse to double click on it, while I could otherwise just press enter.
B
32
S
6
G
1
Posts: 352
Reputation: 2,810

Post » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:51 am

Ohw yes .... same here ...

This can be quite annoying if you have a big project, because I start naming some objects a bit weird just to keep the development process quick.

Lots of times I actually ponder how to name my objects .. so during development I can type two or three letters to make the object appear in the selection window, leaving me to just press enter to select it.

Otherwise, I type a few letters, then either tab to the screen to navigate with the arrows keys to the right object, or use my mouse to select it.
The mouse is annoying, as I tend to use only the keyboard during the editing/adding of events.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Sat Jul 04, 2015 4:18 pm

+
Sorry for my bad english, but I really do my best! And use and check with Google Translator.
B
10
S
4
G
1
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,303

Post » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:31 pm

+also highlight the keywords
B
17
S
4
G
1
Posts: 203
Reputation: 1,583


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Prominent, PROxMTswatTR and 9 guests