[suggestion] Origin point and mouse coordinates

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:34 am

Hello.

I have trouble getting the origin point tool in the image editor to align properly with the displayed mouse coordinates. I made some example images to illustrate:



Here's Mojar from Dotfighters. Say I want to place the origin point at the top left corner of his belt buckle. I know that my needed X/Y position is 9 pixels to the right of the top-left corner and 13 pixels down from it.

If I hover the mouse pointer at mouse coordinate position 9,13 and click then the origin point gets placed at the top-left corner of his buckle, like so:



All good so far. However, if I move the mouse pointer closer to the middle of the buckle and click then the origin point gets placed one pixel further down and to the right. But the mouse coordinates still stay at 9, 13, same as before:



This can be pretty aggravating when you're trying to align non-uniform frames in longer animation sequences and/or higher resolution pixel gfx. Because you never know if the origin point ends up in the right place when the mouse coordinates may be off by one pixel in each direction.

It would be great if we could get a fix for this. ErekT2013-02-06 11:36:27
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 398
Reputation: 3,384

Post » Wed Feb 06, 2013 1:32 pm

This is by design. Origins work best when aligned to the corners of a pixel. It takes the top-left corner of the pixel it's assigned to. But for usability it's placed at the corner nearest the mouse, which might be the top-left corner of the next pixel down.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

Post » Wed Feb 06, 2013 1:58 pm

I see. But this creates problems when a sprite's single-pixel readability isn't clear enough for you to eyeball the precise position and you need to rely on mouse coordinates. For instance when you're dealing with an 8-pixel large single color region within a sprite. In image editors like GIMP and Photoshop coordinate X/Y is always coordinate X/Y. It's important functionality I think. How about a toggle for this or a grid to be able to make out individual pixels a little better?
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 398
Reputation: 3,384

Post » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:27 am

For your information and just for my ease, I'm using the arrow keys to move the origin or every other custom point. That way I'm sure, that what I see is what I get.
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 79
Reputation: 3,343


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests