[SUGGESTION] Persistent Layouts

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:38 am

Persistent layouts would save all objects/instances on that layout in their current state/position when you leave that layout.

For example, if you were to create a game like dragon warrior or final fantasy on the NES. If you walk into a dungeon from the main world, that dungeon could be its own layout. If you set the dungeon layout to be persistent, when you exit the dungeon and go back to the main world, it would save the position and state of the instances in the dungeon. Then, when you go back to the dungeon everything would be as you left it.
B
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 533

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:32 pm

Would be nice.
You can use global objects for some of this.
B
36
S
10
G
6
Posts: 948
Reputation: 11,101

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:36 pm

I think it can be done by using global variables or instance variables stored on a invisible global object, then, you restore it to each object.

But would be a nice idea, indeed, but only if not affect the performance.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
12
Posts: 1,212
Reputation: 18,482

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:37 pm

Nice idea. We're working on features that will hopefully make this possible.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:44 am

That'd be awesome.

@purge
In the meantime, you could use Rex Rainbow's Sprite Bank to accomplish this. You'll likely want to use families to streamline it, but a combination of that and clever use of a global array could accomplish the same effect.
B
58
S
20
G
7
Posts: 305
Reputation: 8,804

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:14 pm

Persistent layouts is the thing I most want to see too. I'm considering putting a lot of work into doing it, but if there's a chance construct2 will be getting that feature, I'll hold off.

...and in the meantime I'll try to send happy persistent layout vibes to the developers. ;-)

B
9
S
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1,715

Post » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:55 pm

@Ashley Sorry to bump but is there any news concerning this feature?

With it you could access complex pause-menus or sub-screens contained in separate layouts, then return to the game exactly as it was (meaning you no longer have to hide pause-menus or sub-screens in invisible layers, use timescale to pause the game, nor use object time scales to keep menus and such running when time scale = 0.) That would be pretty great!


Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:03 pm

This is on our todo list, but depends on the quicksave/quickload feature which is a fairly complicated job. I can't really give an ETA but hopefully within the next few stable releases.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:29 pm

@Ashley, what is this quicksave/quickload feature of which you speak?
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:34 pm

@sqiddster - like the same from Classic. Save the entire state of the game to memory, and allow it to be loaded at any time. E.g. upon pressing F5: quicksave, upon pressing F8: quickload. Instant save system. Should also allow for saving to JSON so you can store a full-state save in WebStorage or similar.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rekjl, saiyadjin and 13 guests