Suggestion: Run Button

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 12:02 am

plus, shortcut tips while placing the mouse over a button would be great.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
13
Posts: 1,218
Reputation: 19,000

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 12:10 am

[QUOTE=JoyfulDreamer]bending over to my laptop keyboard to find the small F4 key[/QUOTE]
I'm not on a laptop but not a great fan of F* shortcuts either
My vote for custom shortcuts^^
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 12:31 am

[QUOTE=lemo] [QUOTE=JoyfulDreamer]bending over to my laptop keyboard to find the small F4 key[/QUOTE]
I'm not on a laptop but not a great fan of F* shortcuts either
My vote for custom shortcuts^^[/QUOTE]

Like Word 2003, where you was able to custom your bars? Good idea, also, store the config on a xml to port it would be great too.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
13
Posts: 1,218
Reputation: 19,000

Post » Tue May 14, 2013 4:11 pm

+1
B
17
S
4
G
4
Posts: 143
Reputation: 4,004

Post » Tue May 14, 2013 8:39 pm

configurable keyboard shortcuts would be nice.
Its also usualy the first place I go when looking for the right keyboard shortcut to work with.
B
43
S
9
G
5
Posts: 231
Reputation: 7,291

Post » Tue May 14, 2013 10:45 pm

I've never used keyboard shortcuts to preview a project. I right click the layout I want in the project tab (if it's not the active one of course) and choose "Run Layout". If I want to preview the whole thing I do the same, just right clicking on the project folder instead of a layout.

Having another button at the top wouldn't be too difficult to implement I figure. Though it'd have to be easy to distinguish between the "run layout" and "run project" buttons. Maybe the current circle design for the layout one and a square one for the project one?

+1 for customizable shortcuts, even if I doubt I'd change them myself.
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Wed May 15, 2013 2:02 am

+1 on having all functions on the UI
...but this is mostly psychological. Check my devlog
B
15
S
4
G
3
Posts: 258
Reputation: 2,850

Post » Sun Jun 09, 2013 7:14 pm

Actually there is a hotkey editor but when you look at the run button, (only 1 option) it says there is no hotkey.
(customize quick access toolbar/more commands/keyboard shortcuts: Customize)

@Ashley I know it seems frivolous, but think of reviewers just glancing at your editor, don't you want them to see those amazing options? Right now your preview options are weak, unless you know they are secret.

I was going to suggest run layout, run preview, a checkbox to select run continuous, and a hint of running on LAN, but then I noticed this thread.

There is no mention of hotkeys in the program. I had forgotten about the run continuously, (hold shift while clicking run-- Anyone having trouble getting this to work?)

**
And for those suggesting two buttons, there are 6 types of preview to runParadox2013-06-09 19:49:45
B
201
S
52
G
30
Posts: 897
Reputation: 36,621

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shinichild and 12 guests