[SUGGESTION] Save to Object

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:30 am

Bump, we might require save to object for special functions.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:48 am

Hello,

Couple of days ago I've requested Object as json string, because of similar reasons. I wanted to save each object in to the array, and then easily load it. Have a look. I think that's what you want too - to be able to save a map and then easily load it, right?

[URL=http://www.scirra.com/forum/request-Object-as-jsOn-string_topic79419.html][Request] Object as JSON string[/URL]
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:53 am

@megatronx I know I've managed to get some strings to each object, but it's pain in the ass, we really need a feature.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:04 pm

No, It's about saving the whole object with everything in there as string.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:48 pm

@megatronx I don't know what you mean, it seems current "save and load" feature.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:57 am

With Object as json string you could save all objects in the level in to array, and then load all of them in couple of events.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:06 am

@megantronx why is so neccesary? It doesn't have kind of benefits.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:43 am

Cause you want to have zones. For zones you need to have some sort of array that will store each zone and then load if conditions are met. So if you'd have object as json, then you could put all objects in to arrays at their right positions, and then load them when player is entering that zone, while removing the old ones.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Sat Nov 16, 2013 2:28 am

[QUOTE=megatronx] Cause you want to have zones. For zones you need to have some sort of array that will store each zone and then load if conditions are met. So if you'd have object as json, then you could put all objects in to arrays at their right positions, and then load them when player is entering that zone, while removing the old ones. [/QUOTE]

@megatronx Good point, I wouldn't call "All objects" sometimes it makes me to think to load the whole objects in all zones. I understand about your idea, we definetly need this feature.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:13 pm

bump
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests