[Suggestion] Set cursor from sprite - set frame

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:39 pm

Add a field to the Mouse -> Set cursor from sprite action to specify an animation frame in the sprite to use

The work-around is to add a Sprite -> Set animation frame action before the set cursor call, but having the option in the set cursor action would be nice and save space.
Don't see the fnords and they won't eat you!
B
79
S
17
G
12
Posts: 323
Reputation: 11,840

Post » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:42 pm

It would be a nice feature.
B
125
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 20,337

Post » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:47 pm

Good idea! It would indeed be useful.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,669

Post » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:57 pm

Cant you just set position to mousex, mousey using a sprite?
You then get access to all of sprites abilities, set frame, set animation, rotation, blah, blah, blah.....
Image ImageImage
B
166
S
49
G
155
Posts: 8,110
Reputation: 100,741

Post » Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:24 pm

@newt, I could do (and have done) that, but the set cursor to sprite action was added to fix lag issues associate with the sprite method.

Also, I've experienced some weird stuttering issues setting a sprite to the cursor using sprite actions, and the set cursor to sprite action seems to alleviate those issues.

Don't see the fnords and they won't eat you!
B
79
S
17
G
12
Posts: 323
Reputation: 11,840

Post » Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:48 pm

Well you have to remember that order makes a big difference for that.
If you have an event that takes a bit of cpu, before the event that sets the sprite to mouse, then there will be some lag.
Perhaps a better workaround would be a behavior for sprite, like what we had in CC.
As I recall that still didn't fix all lag issues, as the cursor doesn't use the same buffering as regular objects.
Chances are it will be the same, if not worse for c2, regardless of what you do.
Image ImageImage
B
166
S
49
G
155
Posts: 8,110
Reputation: 100,741

Post » Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:07 pm

Well, I'm glad I found this topic - I was pulling my hair out wondering why I couldn't change animations on my MouseCursor sprite. Added the "Sprite->Set animation" before "Mouse->Set cursor from sprite" and now it works.
B
33
S
7
G
8
Posts: 312
Reputation: 8,528


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests