Suggestion: Slice tool

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 4:02 am

So I just got done dicing up a sprite sheet in PS with the slice tool w/grids on, and it occurs to me that it would be a good feature to add in to the image editing since that's going to be the focus soon. It's also something that, last I checked, GM and MMF did not have. Both still use ridiculously simple editors.
B
10
S
3
G
4
Posts: 13
Reputation: 3,264

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:18 pm

Isn't that what 'Import sprite strip' in the animation editor does?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,574

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:06 pm

Yeah if your sprites are aligned to a grid then "Import sprite strip" should work just fine! CC also has a similar feature with a few more options.
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:56 am

Lol - nope, I mean slice tool! I'm quite used to doing art in powers of two, but not every sprite will necessarily be the same size!

http://i45.tinypic.com/2unvjh3.jpg
B
10
S
3
G
4
Posts: 13
Reputation: 3,264

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:58 am

Here I've actually cut the whole sheet up to use import strip on the resulting images. Doing everything in one image helps because you keep the relative sizes correct and if you're using a limited palette you don't wind up have to reload it over and over...
B
10
S
3
G
4
Posts: 13
Reputation: 3,264


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests