[Suggestion] "Wait" to not run when conditions are invalid?

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Full game Construct 2 and Construct 3 to post on Google Play
  • Guys, do you agree with the action "Wait" in it's current function?

I realized that the "Wait" action still runs even when it's condition is already invalid or no longer meet.

I understand that it works like a trigger that it will finish it's tasks no matter what but

still, running an action that is already over will make a lot of unexpected events to happen in some cases.

(for example)

*Shoot variable == 1

-->Wait(3.0 seconds)

--> Shoot()

//what if In the next line I change the Shoot variable to 2?

-->Shoot = 2

What will happen here is that the gun will still shoot... regardless...

And the event ended 2.99 seconds ago.

This is only a suggestion so calm down guys.

Feel free to tell any downfalls of my suggestion if I missed something... Remember I'm not an experienced programmer...

Ashley is this feature intended from the start?

• All wait does is delay the following events from running. To make it conditional it's probably simpler to use something else like a variable used as a timer or the timer behavior.

• R0J0hound - Well, I sure messed up on my game... But I think I found a way to remake it using the timer behavior as you said, though it will be messy. I easily misunderstood it's use, because of the word "wait".

Thanks.

• ........ So i'll just close this now .........

• For many use cases it's important to run even if the event is no longer true. For example:

+ On pressed spacebar

-> Shoot a laser

-> Wait 0.5 seconds

-> Shoot a laser

In this case the user wants a "double shot" every time the player presses space. Space may not be down for the second shot but it still definitely should run the action. In fact it doesn't make sense to ask if a trigger is still true after the event has fired, because triggers are one-off events.