Suggestions for C2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:43 am

Suggestion #9

Be able to create pixel art in C2 with the image editor... something like paint, with a transparency function. Nothing fancy, I just wish that I could rapidly make prototype sprites without having to open up paint or GIMP, then saving the file and importing it to c2.

Suggestion #8

If you copy an object the changes to the properties are copied to the new instance. When you clone an object it should clone the object with all of the current property settings as the defaults, not clone the standard plugin object. For example, if you have changed the size, font, color of a text object instance, those changes should be the default settings for the cloned object.

Suggestion #7

A new condition called: "Is overlapping ''object'' With a specification"

example:
if you have 1 family and it have a variable called Test and inside it there is many sprites with different value of 'test' variable.
You want to make an event that will affect only sprites with 'x' value of test variable but without affecting the others.
then you can make:

Family test = 1
Family is overlapping Family with test = 2 ----> destroy family

then families with test 2 overlapping others with test 2 doesn't occur nothing and the same for tests = 1.

Right now if you try the same condition and action, sprites of the family with test 1 overlapping other sprites of the same family with different or equal value of test will trigger the condition..

this is a really important feature in my opinion ;)

Suggestion #6

in an action like Set/add/remove variable sometimes you just want to change the sprite to another one and keep the same action (for that both objects must have the same variable). Right now to do that you have to click in the action, click 'back', then 'back' again, select the new sprite, click 'next' two times and 'done'.
An easier way would be to right click it and have an option to 'select another object', this option would first check for sprites/etc that have the same variable and would appear a box with the selected objects that match it, you choose one and press 'enter' and/or 'Done'. After that, the action didn't change, just changed to another object.
Trust me.. this will make the development of a game faster ;)

Suggestion #5

Have the option to use expression instead of select an object.
Example:
When you use the create object action you first select which object you want to create, my suggestion is have also another option to use expressino method, instead select an object you write what you want like in the Python script of Construct1(System.Create("sprite",1,10,320))
this way we can work with more versality.

Suggestion #4

Keyboard shortcuts:
Send to top of layer
Send to bottom of layer
Apply to whole animation

Suggestion #3

More options in the system object, like an action 'move layer(n) X' and Y, this way people can make automatic scroll of a background, there is a lot of place for improvement here.

If you guys want to share other suggestions go ahead ;)

Suggestion #2

New features in the image editor and more event sheet features

Suggestion #1

Create a specific sprite inside a family using system create object and selecting the family as object.

This will be very helpful for map editors and many code optimizations
This topic have more info about:
http://www.scirra.com/forum/topic51847.html

_________________________________________________________________
GOT any suggestions that would like to share? Make a post and I will add at the first page ;)Guif0DA2012-05-08 01:29:51
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:39 am

I just want new features in the image editor and more event sheet features =)
B
13
S
3
G
3
Posts: 11
Reputation: 2,691

Post » Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:45 pm

Got another suggestion that probably would make every1 happy ;)

also it isn't something hard to be done considering what was already made in C2 ;)

So the suggestion is in an action like Set/add/remove variable sometimes you just want to change the sprite to another one and keep the same action (for that both objects must have the same variable). Right now to do that you have to click in the action, click 'back', then 'back' again, select the new sprite, click 'next' two times and 'done'.
An easier way would be to right click it and have an option to 'select another object', this option would first check for sprites/etc that have the same variable and would appear a box with the selected objects that match it, you choose one and press 'enter' and/or 'Done'. After that, the action didn't change, just changed to another object.
Trust me.. this will make the development of a game faster ;)
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:13 pm

[QUOTE=Guif0DA]
So the suggestion is in an action like Set/add/remove variable sometimes you just want to change the sprite to another one and keep the same action (for that both objects must have the same variable). Right now to do that you have to click in the action, click 'back', then 'back' again, select the new sprite, click 'next' two times and 'done'.
An easier way would be to right click it and have an option to 'select another object', this option would first check for sprites/etc that have the same variable and would appear a box with the selected objects that match it, you choose one and press 'enter' and/or 'Done'. After that, the action didn't change, just changed to another object.
Trust me.. this will make the development of a game faster ;)[/QUOTE]


This would really help
B
18
S
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 1,473

Post » Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:19 pm

It would be really nice to be able to change the source of your actions without having to press back and also reset all the actions as well.

[QUOTE=Guif0DA] 1: When you use the create object action you first select which object you want to create, my suggestion is have also another option to use expressino method, instead select an object you write what you want like in the Python script of Construct1

2: more options in the system object, like an action 'move layer(n) X' and Y, this way people can make automatic scroll of a background, there is a lot of place for improvement here. [/QUOTE]

Cant you do no.1 already with the system command create object? I havent used it yet but I thought that what it was for.

No.2 sounds pretty awesome to me.
ImageImage
B
73
S
16
G
6
Posts: 1,038
Reputation: 10,473

Post » Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:13 am

[QUOTE=GenkiGenga] It would be really nice to be able to change the source of your actions without having to press back and also reset all the actions as well.

[QUOTE=Guif0DA] 1: When you use the create object action you first select which object you want to create, my suggestion is have also another option to use expressino method, instead select an object you write what you want like in the Python script of Construct1

2: more options in the system object, like an action 'move layer(n) X' and Y, this way people can make automatic scroll of a background, there is a lot of place for improvement here. [/QUOTE]

Cant you do no.1 already with the system command create object? I havent used it yet but I thought that what it was for.

No.2 sounds pretty awesome to me.[/QUOTE]

thanks for reply ;)
Also let me explain exacly what I mean with the No.1:
Right now if you create a new object using the system a box will appear and you have to select a object from a window, select his layer and x,y position.
My suggestion is also have another option to select the object you want to create, this one will use expressions, just like in Python script on Construct classic.
So let's make an example:
You have 20 sprites with expression "name", each with a different string and you made a condition that if you click on one of them a object according to his name variable will be created.
Right now you would have to create 20 events to achieve that.
With the expression method of creating object you can do that with 1 event like this:
Mouse over Sprite1 - create object Sprite1.nameGuif0DA2012-04-22 00:14:51
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Sun Apr 22, 2012 2:45 am

Ah ok I see what you mean now re no.1 :)

I must have read it too fast, I thought you were talking about something else.
ImageImage
B
73
S
16
G
6
Posts: 1,038
Reputation: 10,473

Post » Tue May 01, 2012 1:21 am

Another suggestion, please add a new condition called: "Is overlapping ''object'' With a specification"

example:
if you have 1 family and it have a variable called Test and inside it there is many sprites with different value of 'test' variable.
You want to make an event that will affect only sprites with 'x' value of test variable but without affecting the others.
then you can make:

Family test = 1
Family is overlapping Family with test = 2 ----> destroy family

then families with test 2 overlapping others with test 2 doesn't occur nothing and the same for tests = 1.

Right now if you try the same condition and action, sprites of the family with test 1 overlapping other sprites of the same family with different or equal value of test will trigger the condition..

this is a really important feature in my opinion ;)
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Fri May 04, 2012 4:50 pm

anyone got any suggestions that want to share??
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Fri May 04, 2012 5:07 pm

Keyboard shortcuts for these actions would make my day:

Send to top of layer

Send to bottom of layer

Apply to whole animation
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests