Suggestions selected with SPACE

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:26 am

Problem Description
"When you start typing the name of a group, suggestions appear, then if you press space automatically is selected suggestion. Suggestions should be selected with ENTER, not with the space bar."
Image
Description and image from: @Mirlas

Attach a Capx
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/166 ... empty.capx

Description of Capx
Nothing. It's just an empty capx for this bug report not to be deleted instantly. The problem can be reproduced in the editor, not related to a specific project.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Add an event or action that requires some input data from an expression (for ex. Set size, etc..).
  • Start typing into the input field for the suggestion list to appear.
  • Press space. Now the selected suggestion has been chosen instead of writing a space character.

Observed Result
While having the suggestion list appeared in any input field, pressing the space bar selects the currently highlighted suggestion from the list instead of writing the space character.

Expected Result
Pressing the space bar should only write a space character and not act as a confirm key to select the currently highlighted suggestion. Suggestions should be selected with only the ENTER key.

Affected Browsers
This bug is not related to any browser, just the editor.

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 10 x64

Construct 2 Version ID
r231
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,560
Reputation: 20,734

Post » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:22 pm

Please always attach a relevant .capx; you could have included some group names and a 'set group active' action to demonstrate this better. I managed to reproduce it anyway, so the next build disables space as an autocomplete character for function name, group and animation parameters since their names can include spaces.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,543
Reputation: 195,430

Post » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:52 pm

Ashley wrote:Please always attach a relevant .capx; you could have included some group names and a 'set group active' action to demonstrate this better. I managed to reproduce it anyway, so the next build disables space as an autocomplete character for function name, group and animation parameters since their names can include spaces.

Thank you for looking into this. The next time I'll make sure to attach a more detailed capx.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,560
Reputation: 20,734


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest