[Suggetion] Per project plugins and behaviours

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:16 pm

Hi, I've been developing with Construct 2 for some time and even developed some custom plugins and behaviours to give my games a personal touch and do some extra stuff.

One thing that I don't like about Construct 2 right now is having to leave all custom plugins, behaviours and effects whithin the installation directory. The way it is, I can't just install Construct on another PC and work with my projects unless I copy all the plugins. Even worse: it gets very annoying when you use some versioning tool and you want to version those plugins/behaviours. They have to be copied to/from the installation directory to/from the versioned directory at every commit/update.

My suggestion, therefore, is: leaving custom plugins within the project folder structure, so it can be freely copied to any other computer with Construct 2 installed (something similar to adding a lib to your project's folder in a coded project).

Thank you,
Azis
B
5
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 680

Post » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:19 pm

I agree. I downloaded my project from SVN to do some work on my laptop only to discover all the plugins missing. That made for a fun train ride .

The only danger I see is that now people have the ability to post a capx and automaticaly run possibly unknown or dubious javascript files. I don't know if any real damage could be done this way.boolean2013-01-07 19:32:15
B
24
S
4
G
1
Posts: 244
Reputation: 3,462

Post » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:24 pm

Great idea. Thumbs up. It would really make things easier when people looking for help post a capx with custom plugins.Arima2013-01-07 19:26:13
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:57 pm

Maybe a PlugIn-Extension folder in under the project folder would be nice...
B
13
S
4
G
3
Posts: 75
Reputation: 3,425

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:13 am

Agreed, a plugin manager would be great too, thanks. ;]
B
38
S
8
G
3
Posts: 438
Reputation: 6,869

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:51 am

Thumbs up! This is a minor thing for me, but if it improves project organization, I'm all for it! I even have some code specific to test projects and it would be great not having to delete them

It could even bundle the plugins along when you save the capx.


How would it handle a plugin/behavior that already exists in general? I'm guessing it would use the project-specific version, right?
B
35
S
8
G
8
Posts: 532
Reputation: 6,868

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:57 am

plugin manager seems nice idea
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,055
Reputation: 22,644

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:52 pm

This has been on our todo list a while but is pretty tricky. Currently the editor is designed to only load plugins on startup and never change them, so some rearchitecting would be necessary. On top of that it could become difficult to manage plugins - if you bundle a plugin with a project, then a new version comes out with a bug fix, you need to have a way to update the bundled plugin. I'm not sure we can do this in the short term, but it's still on our todo list.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:33 pm

@Ashley, I don't get the second problem.
If a new version of an official plugin comes out with a bug fix, then it's automatically updated. The only plugins that are bundled with the capx are the ones not present in the global list of plugins!

When saving a project, it looks at the global construct plugins folder. If the plugin is there, it skips it (regardless of whether it's an official plugin or a third party one). If it cannot find the plugin there, or if the plugin in the project folder is different than the version in the global folder, it gets bundled.

It's not like it's supposed to pack *ALL* plugins in the capx... In fact, it shouldn't bundle third party plugins if they're on the global folder.

The only way to have a capx with a forced out of date plugin would be to manually copy the outdated version into the project folder.Fimbul2013-01-08 15:33:51
B
35
S
8
G
8
Posts: 532
Reputation: 6,868

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:03 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley] This has been on our todo list a while but is pretty tricky. Currently the editor is designed to only load plugins on startup and never change them, so some rearchitecting would be necessary. On top of that it could become difficult to manage plugins - if you bundle a plugin with a project, then a new version comes out with a bug fix, you need to have a way to update the bundled plugin. I'm not sure we can do this in the short term, but it's still on our todo list.[/QUOTE]

Maybe move the plugin loader code to the Project Load events...?

Just a suggestion.

B
13
S
4
G
3
Posts: 75
Reputation: 3,425

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: spacedoubt, Unconnected and 0 guests