[Suggetion] Per project plugins and behaviours

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:03 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley] This has been on our todo list a while but is pretty tricky. Currently the editor is designed to only load plugins on startup and never change them, so some rearchitecting would be necessary. On top of that it could become difficult to manage plugins - if you bundle a plugin with a project, then a new version comes out with a bug fix, you need to have a way to update the bundled plugin. I'm not sure we can do this in the short term, but it's still on our todo list.[/QUOTE]

Maybe move the plugin loader code to the Project Load events...?

Just a suggestion.

B
13
S
4
G
3
Posts: 75
Reputation: 3,425

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:00 pm

I don't know though, what if the newer version of the plug-in actually has new bugs? It might be better if construct asked you with a dialog box, notifying you that there is a newer version available and asks if you want to update or continue using the old one.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:10 pm

As @Fimbul said, the original plugins could remain on the project folder so Scirra can freely modify them and all projects will remain with an updated version. Only custom plugins would be stored with the project.

@Arima
Maybe that could cause some incompatibilities if the user decides to upgrade only some plugins and not others.

Besides, if a user doesn't want to use newer plugins, he would have the same option as it has today: not upgrading Construct as a whole.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 680

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:41 pm

If it's too complicated and risky to implement in C2 directly, a separate application should do the trick. 3rd party plugins include certain parameters for the app to be able to find and update them properly. I have seen this done like this on other software and I think it worked nicely. It was easy, fast and you never missed a newer version and no need to waste hours looking through the plugins to just update them.
B
47
S
10
G
6
Posts: 455
Reputation: 8,326

Post » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:08 pm

Any news on this?
As a programmer, I usually add my own plugins, behaviors, even effects to my projects and it is really important to me to be able to version them to compare between versions of my work.
I couldn't care less about .capx support, but I think that when you save your project as a .caproj, you should be able to have a "source code" folder where you can put your code specific to the project.

Even if I make a plugin to use in one of my projects, I can't refactor it for use in another project, unless I want to duplicate it and rename it or I can somehow keep backwards compatibility (in case I still want my old project to work).

I love the engine, but for me this is ALMOST a dealbreaker, I am used to work with revision control since I started working in videogames, so this is specially frustrating. Only reasons I keep using the engine is because of the great editor and the focus on component-based design, which I think it makes great sense in the kind of projects I intend to do with Construct 2.

Thanks for any reply!
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Post » Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:52 pm

bumping this topic.

After some experimentation, I am able to work versioning the whole Construct2 folder, duplicating the .exe and all the engine files for each project. Then I only have to execute the .exe of the project that I want to work with, and it will use relative paths to look for the javascript code.

The problem I have when using this approach is that the sprite editor breaks, it seems this one uses absolute paths or registry keys to define where it should save the images, so I can edit images and save them to a path of my choosing, but they will never end up correctly integrated into the game, I have to manually copy them to the correct animation directory and rename them to 000.png before I can see them in the game.

Maybe adding support for per-project javascript folders is too difficult, but maybe fixing the sprite editor (so it supports running the .exe from a different path to where it was installed) would be easier?

Thanks for any reply!
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 241

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Avengium, MadSpy and 11 guests