Swearing in video games! !@#$%

Discuss game development design and post your game ideas

Post » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:15 pm

Hi there guys, I would like some of your opinions on cursing in video games.

I've been writing a game script, a murder mystery set in the modern day. You play as a police detective who is... *shock* trying to catch a serial killer.

I'm keeping the content fairly adult oriented for the most part. So a little bit of swearing is natural. But I find that when it comes to writing the dialogue for these characters that I just want to make every other word a curse word for some reason. It's just how a lot of people talk nowadays, especially in the police profession.

My question is, how much do you think is too much? Does it not bother you at all? Do you hate it? Are certain words not appropriate compared to others? etc. etc.

This is actually an issue that as a writer I've been struggling with for some time. You're feedback will be most appreciated :)

Discuss!Kazan2012-10-02 22:16:44
B
S
G

Post » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:01 pm

I'd say "some" is too much and "a little" is okay if used tactfully. Swearing is usually distracting and will do more to take the player out of the experience than make dialogue seem realistic. Writing is premeditated while speech is usually more spontaneous reactionary, so it comes off as a lazy and crude way of writing. Of course, there is always exceptions, like using it in a stylistic way, such as to contrast one character from all others.

Just my 2 cents!Mulkaccino2012-10-02 23:02:09
B
S
G

Post » Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:38 am

I'm a bit puzzled by your statement " It's just how a lot of people talk nowadays, especially in the police profession".
I'm not sure it is the case, and it also depends on the country I guess.

In US movies, yes you have super cops with quite a swearing language or being smartasses. I'm not sure it's something done regulary IRL though.