Switch from Code Blocks to Line Code

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:58 pm

I totally get where OP is coming from. I had the same issue when I started using Construct. You need to understand how C2's code is structured and you'll understand very well where you can paste different type of blocks and where. Just try stuff and get used to it.

CTRL + C, CTRL + V are just second nature to me now.
B
35
S
9
G
3
Posts: 493
Reputation: 4,092

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:08 am

Mega, you are a real treat. I am a college instructor (although not in computers or academics) and you strike me as the typical type of soul who cannot help anyone else because they are all beneath you while at the same time being the one who disrupts the class with your superior knowledge of all things.

As for copy and paste it is not rocket science, I can use it fluently in most every program I have ever used - except this one. That may be my fault but it does not deter the fact that the method in use here is not in the mainstream or else it just does not like WIN8.

As for reading tutorials I am quite capable of this and this is what irritates me about it. I had this working then rearranged some things and now it does not work. I have found that at times simply changing, adding or deleting code does not activate properly when testing the game. Its as if the whole thing is stuck in the previous scope and unable to update to the new commands.

I just want to know why this does not work when every tutorial I have read says it should.

I am trying to post the dropbox URL for the .capx but now I have to have 300 rep to do that, how in the world can one do what is asked of him when all that lies in the path are obstacles????? I figured out how to open the line code but it really does no good if I cant get the characters in the layout to obey them.
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 255

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:23 am

Image

I have basically copied the tutorial and it still does not work. If I am missing something it is something small and it is not in any of the tutorials. The only thing I don't understand is the red X in front of "is alerted" because nothing I chose in the options gave me that outcome.

Image
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 255

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:39 am

@Spindraft right click on the alert statement and in the list of options choose invert and it will change the statement to not. This is what is used for changing a statement to false. 'If alerted' is true when you invert it adds the X meaning 'if not alerted' which is false. So basically if the Enemy is not alerted do this.
B
23
S
4
G
2
Posts: 364
Reputation: 2,392

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:12 am

You're also adding obstacles to the line of sight behavior instead of the pathfinding behavior. An obstacle is not universal between behaviors.
Moderator
B
95
S
34
G
33
Posts: 3,007
Reputation: 27,876

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:40 am

I think that there are some aspects to the copy/paste/move that didn't seem to work as expected until you realize there is a difference in clicking an event vs clicking an entire box... I do agree that sometimes It doesn't seem to work as smoothly as it could.

I really like the idea of a line based event editor that is similar to simply writing code. Once you understand the event system and all the commands it is much simpler to just bang em out via type than the messy box dialogue system.
Image
B
33
S
11
G
2
Posts: 564
Reputation: 5,163

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:00 am

Spindraft wrote:Mega, you are a real treat. I am a college instructor (although not in computers or academics) and you strike me as the typical type of soul who cannot help anyone else because they are all beneath you while at the same time being the one who disrupts the class with your superior knowledge of all things.


In that case, use your collage instructor power of deduction to solve the problem yourself.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
92
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,987
Reputation: 20,178

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:07 am

@Phoenix thanks so much for the info on invert. I am only familiar with what that does in graphic editors and found it quite out of place in this setting. They should have just gave an option for "is" or "is not". very confusing in places but I imagine I will get it over time. Thanks again.

@Arima thank you as well. I am using the tutorial that sets up LOS to learn how to do this and later in the tutorial it names all of the objects again in Line of Sight. I can look at the options and change it for now as I don't want to move forward until I understand what is going on here. Thanks again.

@ruskul Right on, This is a beautiful set up as far as people not having to code at all and other games have tried block code type interfaces. The problem is that it is way harder to try and comprehend how another individual has interpreted the way code should be layed out rather than see how it physically looks and works together. This is great but it would be much easier to understand if the block titles were a bit more precise in places. For instance the invert action. This is common in graphic editors but trying to see it as an or for is can be a bit of a stretch to most folks and these types of issues run throughout this editor. I still cannot get copy/paste to work properly (honestly I havn't tried again lately) but I will keep at it. Thanks .
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 255

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:08 am

megatronx wrote:
Spindraft wrote:Mega, you are a real treat. I am a college instructor (although not in computers or academics) and you strike me as the typical type of soul who cannot help anyone else because they are all beneath you while at the same time being the one who disrupts the class with your superior knowledge of all things.


In that case, use your collage instructor power of deduction to solve the problem yourself.



Nothing personal but you are a straight jackass Mega, do me a favor and go help someone else.
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 255

Post » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:16 am

Spindraft wrote:
megatronx wrote:
Spindraft wrote:Mega, you are a real treat. I am a college instructor (although not in computers or academics) and you strike me as the typical type of soul who cannot help anyone else because they are all beneath you while at the same time being the one who disrupts the class with your superior knowledge of all things.


In that case, use your collage instructor power of deduction to solve the problem yourself.



Nothing personal but you are a straight jackass Mega, do me a favor and go help someone else.


That's all right, bro, keep whining.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
92
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,987
Reputation: 20,178

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests