Switching from GMS to Construct2 ?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 1:38 pm

Ok, glad to know :)

Well, time to play with the new toy then!

Thanks guys for all this great feedback, it's very nice to be welcomed like that.

Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 3:22 pm

Are you guys still having instability issues with r146? Is it just the crash on exit or other issues as well?
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 3:28 pm

@Ashley - I still get frequent crashes where the banner buttons all start going black and the event sheets go all funky. Some other window appears and disappears a few times in the centre of the screen (so fast the text is never visible) and then you can no longer select anything.

I get it about 4-5 times a day, yet I know others who have never had this problem once.
B
28
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 6,997

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 3:30 pm

That's very weird. I can't imaging anything Construct 2 could be doing to be creating windows. Especially given it involves display glitches, I'd be tempted to say it's a graphics card driver issue...
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 3:35 pm

Hi Ashley, Congratulations for making this incredible tool. It's a blast to play with.

I don't know if what I'm writing is relevant, because it's my first construct2 day, but yes, same here, the event sheets can be slow, then even slower, then crash. I had it several times this night on the Steam version, when browsing rich examples with a lot of assets / events in it.

That said, no crash today on smaller ones.

Again, I don't know if it's useful or not, I'm answering to be polite, but I'm sure confirmed users are way more relevant.
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 8:55 pm

@Ashley
Just to throw in two cents, I get several crashes in C2 and I noticed it's usually when switching between different system windows, like if I finish editing a sprite then close the window, the whole program will crash sometimes , or if I switch from events to layout screen. IT's rare enough to not be a serious off putting issue, but enough that I save pretty much before clicking anything.It seems like CS2 does sort of "secret loading" in the background after some operations and if you overload it during that process it will crash...if that makes any sense.

B
9
S
3
G
2
Posts: 51
Reputation: 1,522

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 9:16 pm

@Aurel
glad it was helpful. After posting I thought of a few other things that maybe of use.

1. C2 executes events top to bottom so organize well. or you may not get the results you expect No "begin step" "step" "end step" "draw step" it's just all one step.
2. draw_gui C2 equivalent is a top most layer with scalerate=0 Parallax=0,0. then placing your GUI objects on said layer.
3 Parent object. is exactly like a Family in C2. But you can only have one object type in a Family. Both can have overlap. GMS Parent objects can themselves have parents. and an object in C2 can exist in many families
4.Sure you noticed by now. you can edit scale and rotate objects on a layout without the fear of everything going to hell. unlike in Rooms.
5. Nothing like surfaces built into C2. some 3rd party plugins give you some of these functions back.
6. Sound in C2 is less buggy then GMS and more responsive in the editor.
7. no "switch" statement in C2. get used to lots of IF statements and use a local variable as your break.   
8. you can't store objects as variables in C2. you will need to use a variable as a switch to choose the object instead of directly calling it.
Example, not practical to spawn an enemy each tick but just pointing out the difference.    
GML
//step event, or some other event
NewEnemy=choose(obj_enemy1,obj_enemy2,obj_enemy3);
instance_create(x,y,NewEnemy);

C2
// create variable. global in this example.
"Newenemy"=0
each tick-- Newenemy=choose(1,2,3)
sub event
if Newenemy=1 -- system create object obj_enemy1 at layer,X,Y
if Newenemy=2 -- system create object obj_enemy2 at layer,X,Y
if Newenemy=3 -- system create object obj_enemy3 at layer,X,Y

you can see how this could become lengthy if your spawn system was complex.

9. scirra forums don't have a collapsible/expandable code tag. I wish they did
B
87
S
14
G
9
Posts: 101
Reputation: 9,937

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 9:49 pm

Onzephyr, you know you're like an gamedev angel for me right now, you know that?

I've been playing with C2 all day, and I'm really thinking about recreating my game in C2 to finish it. (I'm 50% in dev, 7 months, but I can re-import all the assets in C2). That's a huge waste of time, but it could worth the effort as I look to all the C2 strenghts and how quick I progress here.

Tried to add my core gameplay, works like a charm in 2 hours.
Added gamepad support, works like a charm.
Particles effects and shaders, 1 hour, works like a charm.
And I don't mention parralax, that was effortless. I figured the GUI thing already because of that.
The whole IDE is brilliant, just brilliant.

For now, regarding the events, I feel like everything easy in GMS will be much quicker in C2, but complex conditions will be a bit harder to handle. As you said. We'll see if I miss GML too much. Maybe, but for now, I don't think so.

I miss my paths, too, but waypoints should do the trick, I found one pretty good example on this forum.

I mostly have to stop searching for begin step / end step, and it should be fine. And understand how to make solid controllers.

If I read you well, my mains controllers have to be a kind of "permanent" sheets. Or do I have to add it manually to each level?

Anyway, you've done enough for me, I will figure it out anyway if it's as well made as the other C2 features.

Thanks again, and again, the transition is very smooth thanks to you.
Heart symbol with my fingers and everyting.

------------
BONUS !
------------
No crash today! ;)Aurel2013-10-05 22:05:17
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 10:19 pm

Welcome to the forum, Aurel

I got so much knowledge after reading this whole thread. Thanks everyone for the help. Before I was also thinking like you @Aurel means to say what is good for me. After some time I found the answer C2 is my darling and I loved it. Thanks C2 Team.

I don't want to compare them right now as I don't have so much knowledge like you guys have. But there is one good thing that C2 is getting better & better day by day. I think that in less than a year it will be the best for all the platforms from Mobile phones to Desktop computer. That is the performance will be increased.

One more thing Aurel, if you put @ symbol before the name of any user , than that user will get one notification about this post, it is very much helpful to tell a person that you have replied to there post or question.

Hope this helps.

Thanks in advanced.
Bye bye take care.
B
94
S
19
G
15
Posts: 198
Reputation: 14,421

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 10:27 pm

@Aurel
I forgot about Paths. Yeah nothing exactly like them. Waypoint system is the way to go. glad you found an example that works.
C2 does have really nice pathfinding, but that's overkill for what a GMS path did.

Glad your switch is going well. Pretty crazy you already got your game ported over that fast.
B
87
S
14
G
9
Posts: 101
Reputation: 9,937

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests