Switching from GMS to Construct2 ?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:16 pm

I will try to keep this as short as possible

Construct 2 is the first software I bought in a long time (and I don't usually buy software).

First of all, most of us are hobbyists and in best case Indie. What we need ? We need easy software (less coding) and tools as cheap as we can get. Quick comparison of 3 engines that I tested before:

In the performance order (the things you can do with the engine):
Unity3D > GameMaker:Studio > Construct 2

Features/price ratio:
Unity3D > Construct 2 > GameMaker:Studio

Construct 2 for nice 2D games done fast, available in browser and almost on all platforms. A disadvantage that I see is that exports only HTML5 and in order to port your game on other platforms, you will need 3rd party tools.

Unity3D for better quality games but you need coding skills (C#, Javascript or Boo) and more time to spend. Also for Indies is free until they reach 100.000$ if they put Unity3D logo at the start of their game.
But if you want to make a decent commercial game you will need at least one good programmer and one graphical artist (it's very hard for only one person to make a good game).

GameMaker:Studio if you want to spend more money, learn a proprietary programming language and have headache using the Layout editor. With Unity3D bringing default support for 2D there will be dark days for GameMaker:Studio.TGeorgeMihai2013-10-07 21:22:09
B
49
S
15
G
6
Posts: 531
Reputation: 7,189

Post » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:01 pm

Yeah, I'm a huge fan of GMS, but the more I use C2, the more I love it even more :)

It's so easy and joyful to develop with, I'm having a very great time.
Thanks again @thehorseman007 and @onzephyr for your advices.
I think there will be no turning back to GMS, even if I own and paid all of the exports packs.

That said, as a beginner in C2, I'm a bit confused on how to do the 2 followings things I easily made in GMS.
Any pro-user hint welcomed :)

Particles angle: I know how to set the angle of the particle emiter, but I'm looking for a way to set the image angle for each part (so, not the spray, the images in the spray).
I got glowing strokes for the trail of my ship, and I can't figure how to orient the parts at their creation so it looks clean.

Automatic dropped shadows: I'm looking for a way to create shadows of my top view road on the sublayer for a great depth effect.
I tried a lot of things, but I can't figure how each instance can create their specific shadow at start, each at their own position +n and angle.

Well, I guess it means I suck at create events for now ^^!

(for now...)Aurel2013-10-07 23:06:00
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:57 pm


Oh, nevermind, just saw the other topic about particles angles. It can't be done, I'll find another way, no problem.

And I'm sure I'll find this shadow thing by myself, I shouldn't ask too soon, let's search a bit more.
This topic can be closed if someone want to :)

Thanks again everyone! Wish you the best for your games!
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:43 am

Thanks for the reply @Aurel, glad to help you, and yes C2 is something like a trap when you use it , you cannot come out of it. So I got stuck in C2 and now you are.

But don't panic hahahahahahaha, since you got stuck you will come up with something good creation of your own.

@TGeorgeMihai I don't think that the GMS has the dark days now because Unity is now 2D or so, as we all have the different taste and the one who likes GMS will not buy or go for Unity2D. Just my point of view.

Thanks in advanced.
Bye bye take care.
B
94
S
19
G
15
Posts: 198
Reputation: 14,421

Post » Tue Oct 08, 2013 4:37 pm

@Aurel
yeah no particle rotation, but you found that.
for the drop shadow. There are a bunch of ways to go about it. Kind of what's nice about C2. Here are the ways I do it based on movement needs.

The shadow casting object does not move. and you want the shadow on it's own layer.
// two objects. obj_road, obj_shadow
obj_road on created
---- obj_road spawn obj_shadow on layer "thislayer",imagepoint"0" // have each obj_road on create , spawn a shadow on a diff layer.
---- obj_shadow set position (self.x+offset,self.y+offset) // set position by adding offset amount

The shadow casting object is going to move and the shadow need to stay "pinned" at a specific distance/angle to obj_road
Do the same as above but give the obj_shadow the PIN behavior. and pin it to obj_road at the end.

The shadow casting object is going to move and the shadow needs to dynamically move in relation.
example player shadow needs to position its self based on nearest light source. Using containers for this is great if you have many of the same object needing complex shadows.

/* two objects. obj_player, obj_shadow.   obj_shadow is in the obj_player's container. " this makes selecting the right object just work when you have many instances"
if there is only one obj_player and only one obj_shadow then you don't need a container.
obj_shadow has two instance variables offsetx, offsety. you could do the following in one "set position expression". but using vars makes it easier to figure out what's going on.
*/
each tick // or however often you wish to update.
----obj_shadow.offsetx= (expression to figure out offset from obj_player goes here) // calc offset the container will make sure the right object is picked
----obj_shadow.offsety=(expression to figure out offset from obj_player goes here)
---obj_shadow set position (self.x+self.offsetx,self.y+self.offsety) // place shadow to correct position.onzephyr2013-10-08 20:07:19
B
87
S
14
G
9
Posts: 101
Reputation: 9,937

Post » Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:07 pm


@onzephyr So.Much.Love for you.

I figured this morning how to do it, but I had mixed results with it.
I just made it your way, and now it create shadows on a sublayer with a parrallax effect, giving a great dynamic illusion. Simple and lovely.

I own you one, once again!

@thehorseman007
Sorry, I can't reply to your PM, as a new member it's not an available option :)Aurel2013-10-08 22:11:25
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:16 pm

Ho bienvenu Aurel!!!
I'm glad you appreciate so much C2. :)
Can't wait to see what you're making with it! (probably a killer app)
B
71
S
21
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 12,086

Post » Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:04 am

[QUOTE=Aurel] If I read you well, my mains controllers have to be a kind of "permanent" sheets. Or do I have to add it manually to each level?[/QUOTE] put global stuff on an Event Sheet, and IMPORT them to other Event Sheets (right click, add Event sheet)
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 347
Reputation: 2,866

Post » Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:31 am

@KaMiZoTo Hey, you there! Thanks for the kind words. Hope you'll like it :)

@ghost Thanks, I'm doing it like this and it works perfectly.
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 12:08 am

cool
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 347
Reputation: 2,866

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests