Text Adventure Game

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:23 am

Greetings, i have been trying to figure some things out all day to no avail and i have searched far and wide with the search option, So here i come to see if some people can help me.

I want to create something like this,

adarkroom.doublespeakgames - google it for an idea

Now i will make a short list of what i am struggling with.

Now i can make global variables for the Resources, But how can i get them to show and update in a text field, And possibly save too?

So if i collect 50 wood it would update the global variable which would then update in the text field,(need to get it to show in a text field though, and can i have several variables showing in the same text field on a new line.

Thankyou for your time

p.s (i may be 22 but step by step instructions help alot)
sheppard12013-10-13 06:24:44
B
5
Posts: 13
Reputation: 227

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:49 am

I would research Arrays, and the Dictionary plugins.
https://www.scirra.com/manual/108/array

To load and save look into the WebStorage
https://www.scirra.com/manual/120/webstorage

Are you doing it 100% text input? If so you should look into Tokens and Regex in the tutorial section.

I was a big fan of text adventure games back in the 1980's.

Here are 3 of my all time favorites, some of the very first , and very best text adventure games. They are free games now, but I payed $30 a piece for them when they where new.
http://www.infocom-if.org/downloads/downloads.html

Zork was an awesome series!
here is a list of other infocom games:
http://www.infocom-if.org/games/games.html

They are a great place to strt if you are looking for inspiration and a great story at the same time.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:22 am

This is going to be more of a wierd text game :D as in city simultaion, town management, Expansion.


here is what i have so far .dropbox.com/s/39bw2sylif1fump/So%20far.capx

the part labaled resources is where i wanted the values of gold, wood to show etc, as i would gather etc.

Arrays are confusing me i have been reading it for several hours and my head just goes gobbily gook after 5 minutes.
B
5
Posts: 13
Reputation: 227

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:53 am

next Question, I managed to get the Global variables to show inside of the text box by using Set text to "Gold: " & GOLD on a text box

It doesnt show as 0 So that a bummer but guess can start out someway, Well i will mess on with this for a while.

Will be back if i get stucksheppard12013-10-13 08:54:26
B
5
Posts: 13
Reputation: 227


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blackhornet, RandomlyMooN and 7 guests