Text-Based Editing

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:31 am

I'm more familiar with scripting and actual code than the way Construct displays events, so I thought it would be nice to have an option to switch between "expert" and "novice" mode on the event editing page. Also, I think it would save everyone time trying to duplicate events. :roll: Just my opinion.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,192

Post » Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:40 am

Have you tried using Python Scripts? I think those are what your describing
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:05 am

Yes, Python gives you full access to all the objects in the layout. You can probably pretty much python script an entire game, but I don't think anybody's finished a python-only game yet.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:55 am

But then I need to include the python dll, correct?
I'm just suggesting a way to more quickly edit events.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,192

Post » Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:46 am

I don't understand what you wish to edit.. if you insert some conditions and actions with parameters, you can click the parameter and edit it without going through dialogs (hover over it then click).

Python allows total flexibility with text-based editing, if that's what you want.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:57 am

A bit of copying and pasting events could save me loads of time. I end up using the same action multiple times in my 'code' and want to clone it instead of choosing it again from the menu. I'm using Python a little right now, but I'd like to edit events this way as well.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,192

Post » Thu Jul 17, 2008 2:31 pm

[quote="fantasyjam":cc9gvitd]A bit of copying and pasting events could save me loads of time. I end up using the same action multiple times in my 'code' and want to clone it instead of choosing it again from the menu. I'm using Python a little right now, but I'd like to edit events this way as well.[/quote:cc9gvitd]
If I'm reading you right here, you might want to look into the Function object.
Insert it to your layout, make an "On Function Called" event trigger and include all your events (if it's working with an object specifically make sure to check the Remember Picked Objects box in call function) then in the events where you want to call those actions just put in a "Call Function" action.
It sounds complex but it's really quite simple to use once you get used to it. I've been learning Torquescript so I understand a lot more about some of the standard ways this stuff works :D
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,735


Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests