Text boxes disappearing when project exported into a NW.js

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Thu Feb 02, 2017 6:25 pm

Problem Description
TextBoxes and buttons randomly blink and disappear when the project is previewed or exported into an NW.js project. They reappear when the user hover his mouse over the button or the textboxes.


Steps to Reproduce Bug

[1] Create multiple textbox
[2] Preview the project with NW.js

Observed Result

TextBoxes and buttons randomly blink and disappear when the project is previewed or exported into an NW.js project. They reappear when the user hover is mouse over the button or the textboxes.

Expected Result

To stay visible every frame .

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (NO)
  • FireFox: (NO)
  • Internet Explorer: (NO)

Operating System and Service Pack

windows 10 professional x64 fully updated.


Construct 2 Version ID

I'm using the last version of NW.js for C2 (january) and C2 beta release r424
B
10
S
2
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,160

Post » Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:59 pm

I put 3 text boxes into a layout, previewed with NW.js, and saw nothing odd. You should provide a *.capx and some additional information.

  • graphics card model
  • graphics driver version
  • graphics driver release date
  • webgl enabled or disabled
B
54
S
19
G
13
Posts: 97
Reputation: 10,146

Post » Sun Feb 05, 2017 10:20 pm

I can't reproduce either.
B
61
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,991

Post » Mon Feb 06, 2017 3:39 am

I have lots of games with text boxes that run fine in NW.JS.

Sounds more like you might have an event resetting your text boxes to blank when mouse is not over them.

I would check your events one by one.

Also check your effects if you are using masks.
Banned User
B
27
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,800

Post » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:23 pm

i've just made a bunch of text boxes in a new project with nothing in the project.
Well seems like it is a problem from my side.

here's an image of the problem. It's pretty simple.
https://snag.gy/Hx6CmQ.jpg
B
10
S
2
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,160

Post » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:43 pm

First, upload your capx so the bug report isn't closed for not following the guidelines.
Second, have you tried updating your graphics card drivers?
B
61
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,991

Post » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:52 pm

pirikos wrote:i've just made a bunch of text boxes in a new project with nothing in the project.
Well seems like it is a problem from my side.

here's an image of the problem. It's pretty simple.
https://snag.gy/Hx6CmQ.jpg



OK I looked at the pic and it looks like you don't have any text in the boxes so of course nothing will show up?

Put some text in your boxes and try it.

That is not a bug and you might want to move this to the HOW DO I SECTION.
Banned User
B
27
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,800

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2017 12:14 am

@lamar text boxes like these should show up even without any text in them, like web form boxes.
B
61
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,991

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:37 am

Burvey wrote:@lamar text boxes like these should show up even without any text in them, like web form boxes.



Oops my bad- I thought he was doing a standard text. Yes the box should show up. Shows up on mine.

I just tested a text box in my game in NW.jS to make sure and it works.

Could be you have something moving to the top of the layer covering the text boxes when the mouse is not over them?

Would need to see a capx but does not look like a bug.
Banned User
B
27
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,800

Post » Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:54 pm

I also can't reproduce. Since no .capx was attached I can't verify the actual way you are testing, which goes against our bug report guidelines, so closing.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,361


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests