Text Boxes using the same key?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:40 am



I'm still learning, so bear with me if I'm making too many topics.

I ran into a problem where Construct 2 won't let me press the A key for initiating a text box, and then using the A key to close the text box. If I set the A key to open AND close, I'm pretty sure it's running the entire process all at the same time and thus makes it look like nothing is happening. If I set the keys to A for initiating and S to close, it works.

So, I've tried to play with values, hoping I can try to not confuse the engine so much, but I'm not doing so well with that. Can someone point out what I'm doing wrong here?

(And on a side note: if anyone knows where to find any info on making textboxes that scroll through individual letters as they output their words, like old RPGs, that'd be neat!)

edit:
Another thing I noticed is that I have two of the same NPCs in the same instance, but only the one in thelayout will perform the textbox functions. I'm not sure why that is. I was expecting them both to do the same thing. DesertTrackers2013-01-04 07:43:26
B
2
Posts: 3
Reputation: 406

Post » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:40 am

I'd do a toggle thingy, something like this:



You'll want to have your open and close condition under same trigger, in your example they are under separate triggers (they are both 'true' if they are in the same button)vee412013-01-04 09:46:44
B
24
S
8
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,202

Post » Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:06 am

On the slow typewriter effect, here is a link to a topic:
http://www.scirra.com/forum/typewriter-text-effect_topic45272_post283408.html?KW=#283408

Ashley shows how to do it in one event.
B
201
S
52
G
30
Posts: 897
Reputation: 36,621


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests