Text input and appearing

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:09 am

Im working on some new stuff, trying to push in a new way for me in construct. Although this may be a simple thing, Ive nevr really done it before.
What Im hoping to do is this...
Have the first layout a "Text input/ setup" screen for the user...Giving them the opportunity to input Text that they wish to appear during the game (potentially many lines worth).
Then, after setting up the Text, I would like that very same Text to appear in the net layout.

Basically, giving the player the abbility to change mini Text puzzles each time they play...whilst the gameplay wont change, the Text will...its for an educational game.

If anyone could help with this, it would be greatly appreciated.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 45
Reputation: 940

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:44 am

One way to do this would be INI files.
I started making a quick example but got a little carried away.
So here you go: InIdialog.cap made with 0.99.84
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,749
Reputation: 40,761

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:07 am

Thanx heaps, I'm on the iPod right now, I'll check it out when I'm back on the pc
B
2
G
3
Posts: 45
Reputation: 940

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:59 am

Hey, im sorry, but the .cap wont run...
I get "out of memory" error appear.
Im running version 1.0
B
2
G
3
Posts: 45
Reputation: 940

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:08 am

[quote="wiz":2kqdf2nj]Hey, im sorry, but the .cap wont run...
I get "out of memory" error appear.
Im running version 1.0[/quote:2kqdf2nj]

Really? Can I get a copy? :)
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:19 am

Hahaha.... I mean the latest version... Spot the "not so noob" noob!
B
2
G
3
Posts: 45
Reputation: 940

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:26 am

Which latest version do you mean? The stable or unstable one? It seems there is a major confusion regarding the "latest" version.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:38 pm

This is why I think Ash and Co. should go back to posting the unstables on the front page when it's proven they work. This has been happening A LOT lately because people don't read the Construct Discussion forum.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:13 pm

[quote="deadeye":3btiag66]This is why I think Ash and Co. should go back to posting the unstables on the front page when it's proven they work. This has been happening A LOT lately because people don't read the Construct Discussion forum.[/quote:3btiag66]

Seconded
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:37 pm

Great example R0J0hound!

I especially like how you handled the text. VERY nice RP style
B
28
S
8
G
8
Posts: 530
Reputation: 7,154

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests