Text input

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:39 pm

I'm sure this is embarrassingly obvious but I can't work out how to check if the player has typed a particular word (like in a spelling game). Do I have to do it key by key? I'd like to have a large selection of words that can be randomly displayed one by one on the screen and the player then has to type them within a time limit.

All advice greatly appreciated.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 53
Reputation: 792

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 12:26 am

I would probably record each keystroke, that way it would be compatible with all the exporters. For example Cocoon doesn't support text boxes.

But text input boxes would handle putting the words together, with deleting and such.
here is a tutorial on using a hidden textbox, so you aren't locked into the the look of each browser's version.
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/624/text-input-using-textbox-and-invisible-textbox Paradox2013-08-24 00:29:02
B
231
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,348

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:12 am

That's great! Thanks very much.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 53
Reputation: 792


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: yiuyiu6666 and 27 guests