Text Object Error

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 2:15 am

If I create a new cap, it does not crash, but my current project, it does crash.
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?qevmyymxyiz
Anything I add the Text Object and test the game, it crashes, without it, it works fine.
Edit: Figured it out. One of my Families was named "Text". So I guess Construct things "Text" is paired with the "Text" family
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 9:04 am

Indeed, Construct 0.99.2 doesn't allow family names that an object already has. It was possible before, you could create a family and name it 'Text' before creating the actual Text object, but now it shouldn't be possible.

Be careful with naming convention, it will save you many headache. Construct tries to be smart about it, but it is not infallible.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 9:24 am

Indeed, it shouldn't be possible anymore. What version did you make this in?
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 10:14 am

I'm using .98.9. until folders are complete in .99.x.

Edit: typo.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 10:20 am

If you have a family named 'Text' and a Text object, which one does Construct look for when you want to position 'Text' to middle of screen? What if you want to save a variable, which one does it use?

Don't use conflicting names. ;)
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 11:01 am

Okay, well it's fixed if you use a new build so it's not a problem anymore.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 11:58 am

By the way, is there a way to rename a family?
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests