Text outlining

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Jun 16, 2012 5:14 pm

Hi there.

I'm working on my game with Construct Classic.
I wanted to give outline to text, and there is "Outline" in effect section.

But the problem is that outline is always white 1pixel line,
and I can't find any way to change its style.

What i want is White Text with Black Outline...Any ideas?
B
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 444

Post » Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:35 pm

Try this effect:
colored outlinezyblade2012-06-16 18:35:51
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:23 pm

Tried, But found some problem.



This is how it looks. They make somewhat cracked outline.
It looks more horrible when thickness is increased - It displays four
black texts far from X(Thickness) pixel from original text as you see.

Well, same thing happen when using Ashley's outline fx.
Is it a prolbem of effect, or problem of my CAP?
B
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 444

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:29 pm

Try this and look into the font example.

Then just google

edit: And btw, if you increasing the font size, outline will look better on thickness: 3.zyblade2012-06-18 17:32:19
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:57 pm

Well, Already tried Resource object. But does not work.
And about google - I use korean font so it's no good.

One thing suspicious is that the thing works fine
in Arial, thickness 1.
(same problem occurs when thickness is more or same than 2)

Anyway I'm still looking for ways to solve it.

I'm not going to post CAP file yet for some reason,
but I'll try to post CAP if necessary.
B
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 444

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:29 pm

The resource plugin works fine, maybe you're doing something wrong?
Using outlined font with that plugin would be a solution. Can't help you further :/
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:31 pm

Since you want to show only numbers in that counter, you could try an animated sprite with 10 frames with custom graphics. This would be a workaround, but you'd have absolute control of your outline.
B
59
S
7
G
2
Posts: 93
Reputation: 4,228

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 12:50 pm

Thanks, I don't know there's such a method.
I'll try it right away.
B
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 444

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:40 pm

If you are going to use a sprite for this you can give this plug-in a try. It comes with an example with only four lines of events. Not hard to follow.

http://www.scirra.com/forum/spritefont-v0995rc-new-update-small-bugfixes_topic37778.html
B
8
S
2
Posts: 40
Reputation: 2,136

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:25 pm

spritefont is cool, but maybe a bit over the top in this particular scenario.
B
59
S
7
G
2
Posts: 93
Reputation: 4,228

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests