Text Prompts and CocoonJS

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:03 pm

I was getting a slow FPS from Crosswalk so I decided to try recompiling my game with cocoonjs. The FPS jumped up by 10 which is sweet but I lost my text prompt!

Anyone else see this? Right now my game works perfectly but I can't prompt for initials for high score.
B
4
Posts: 17
Reputation: 259

Post » Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:25 am

the default text input box doesnt work with cocoon js(at least on android), but they have a special function, name cocoon prompt text input you can use.
Image
B
30
S
5
G
1
Posts: 125
Reputation: 3,220

Post » Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:37 am

To make it more clear.

At this time CJS is a canvas render. Which is only open space of pixel manipulate.

The text object that shouldn't be used in games so please use spritefont; is infact a DOM object of HTML5 dom rendered.... which isn't part of the canvas rendering.

So you can't mix DOM and Canvas... actually in fact the last time this question was asked I informed that TextObject because it works on the DOM layer adds a seperate rendering level on top of Canvas. This will hit your performance and games should never use DOM objects.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,018


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests