Textbox in gamemaker

Discuss game development design and post your game ideas

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 10:10 am

I have tried using gamemaker to see how it is. It's programming language is amazing but it lacks interactive things like textbox,which is very important for the game I am making at the moment.
So I need to write a textbox from scratch. I really like the textbox in Construct 2. How does it work?
@ashley ?
I will not let you reach the sisters
Nature Forums
B
11
S
5
G
2
Posts: 496
Reputation: 2,306

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 10:30 am

Hello

This is a forum for C2 so how do you expect someone to answer such a question with is related to gamemaker?

You should ask this in the gamemaker forum.
Cyberphaze

What we build can never be destroyed
B
136
S
18
G
6
Posts: 37
Reputation: 14,759

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 10:33 am

Is it April Fools already!

I mean, really?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,386
Reputation: 58,454

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 10:34 am

No. I am just asking how C2's textbox works.
I don't want help with Gamemaker.
I will not let you reach the sisters
Nature Forums
B
11
S
5
G
2
Posts: 496
Reputation: 2,306

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 12:02 pm

Code: Select all
<textarea name="comments" cols="25" rows="5">


that easy
B
44
S
10
G
8
Posts: 437
Reputation: 6,463

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 2:10 pm

That's HTML, gamemaker uses GML(Syntax is similar to C# and C++)
I think C2 is also written in C++.
I will not let you reach the sisters
Nature Forums
B
11
S
5
G
2
Posts: 496
Reputation: 2,306

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 2:56 pm

what you create in C2 is HTML and JavaScript.


I doubt that you will get the answer here that you are looking for, as everyone here uses C2 and not GM. Easiest to get an answer on that is by doing a screenshot of how the textbox looks like, head over to the GM Forum and ask there how it is possible to do it in GM.


And if you want to know how it works, go to the plugin folder of your C2 installation and look at the code for the textbox (which is JavaScript and HTML).
B
44
S
10
G
8
Posts: 437
Reputation: 6,463

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 3:01 pm

Oh . The code is their? Why didn't you tell me this before?
I will not let you reach the sisters
Nature Forums
B
11
S
5
G
2
Posts: 496
Reputation: 2,306

Post » Wed May 28, 2014 8:51 pm

Heh. The Construct 2 text box is just a HTML form element floating above the canvas. Asking me to tell you how to do that in GM might be pushing the boundaries of our support a little ;)
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Fri May 30, 2014 4:06 pm

That's why I hate GM. Everyone needs to re-invent the wheel
I will not let you reach the sisters
Nature Forums
B
11
S
5
G
2
Posts: 496
Reputation: 2,306

Next

Return to Game Development, Design & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests