TextBox problem

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:42 am

I've got a layout of a map and certain places on the map have a text box over it. These TB's are enabled, background set to transparent and border set to dashed to indicate 'clickable' locations on the map.

I can not get anything to trigger via:

mouse - cursor is over TBmap and condition left mouse clicked
mouse - click on object TBmap

it works with a sprite instead of a TB, but it is much harder to make a border on a sprite than a TB

I believe it is because of the inherent properties that a TB once clicked is supposed to let you type. Can I get past this?

My main goal is to just have a nice highlighted border that can easily be resized to show where you can click. Suggestions?

Thanks
B
5
S
1
Posts: 26
Reputation: 427

Post » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:33 am

You may need to use

For each Textbox
If Mouse is overlapping Textbox >>> Do something

Have you a CAPX I can play with, and see if I can fix ?
Using R243 for all examples
B
69
S
20
G
6
Posts: 379
Reputation: 9,699

Post » Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:48 am

I think you'd be better off using nine-patch to create a border.
If you'd give me the css settings you use for the border I could create teh nine-patch object in 10 seconds. (just making a screenshot, deleting th bg-colour and cropping it)
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:14 am

I haven't gotten a dropbox yet. Thanks for the replies :)

9 patch huh? The border is something like "3px dashed black".

Would that resize for different areas, boxes, rectangles?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 26
Reputation: 427

Post » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:50 am

I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:04 pm

Ahh yes, that does work very well actually. I couldn't figure out how to make a dashed line easily so used a black border and the picking with mouse works now. Figured out the middle to transparent and looks good.

Thank you!
B
5
S
1
Posts: 26
Reputation: 427

Post » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:43 pm

Here's a dashed line example:



and settings:

I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests