Texture Setter minimap problem

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:17 pm

Hello guys! I've made a minimap in my game using texture setter plugin and canvas object. There are three families - one for tiled objects, second one is for sprites and the final one is for sprites that should be in front of all that mess. These families are pasted into canvas in proper order, texture setter does rest of the work. Everything is working fine when player comes to layout for the first time (you can revisit game areas anytime), but when I return back, not all of the objects can be seen on map. Here are some screenshots.

event sheet

good map

bad map
I'm counting on your help. Thanks in advance.Wolod2012-01-27 17:24:27
B
54
S
11
G
4
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,074

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:22 pm

Is any part of the canvas off screen when you do the paste?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:25 pm

Nope. Canvas coordinates are 0,0 and size is equal to the layout size.Wolod2012-01-27 17:26:45
B
54
S
11
G
4
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,074

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:28 pm

I've noticed that bug affects only tiled objects. Maybe this will help. Also pasted objects are on different layers with equal scroll parameters though.Wolod2012-01-27 17:30:52
B
54
S
11
G
4
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,074

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:32 pm

Try send to front for the objects that are missing. Also you don't need the for each for any of the events.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:18 pm

[QUOTE=newt] Try send to front for the objects that are missing. Also you don't need the for each for any of the events.[/QUOTE]
I removed for each and sent them to front but result is the same. Maybe another suggestions?
B
54
S
11
G
4
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,074

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:40 pm

I would ask ROJOhound directly as the creator of texture setter, because from what I read about that plugin, it really only uses a texture of another object, not any information of how that texture is used by the original object. A tiled background for example just uses one texture and repeats it, but texture setter will not use this repeating information, I'd say.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:10 pm

It wouldn't be an issue with the texture setter plugin. In the past I've seen objects not getting pasted into the canvas at the start of the layout. You could try a slight delay by using "compare time equal to 10" instead of "start of layout".
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,738
Reputation: 40,739

Post » Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:22 am

[QUOTE=R0J0hound] It wouldn't be an issue with the texture setter plugin. In the past I've seen objects not getting pasted into the canvas at the start of the layout. You could try a slight delay by using "compare time equal to 10" instead of "start of layout".[/QUOTE]
It didn't help. I'm sure that it's a bug in canvas object.
B
54
S
11
G
4
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,074

Post » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:02 am

I guess try posting a cap.
My only other guess goes along with what Rojohound said.
The canvas uses the gpu, so you may have to wait a tick before the paste.
I usually used the function, call function after delay.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests