Thanks Scirra!

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 7:47 am

@zendorf: Display the "Renderer" system expression in a text object for example.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 8:18 am

@Kyatric - I think that actually doesn't display anything other than canvas2d or webgl, even in software mode.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 9:54 am

Anyone know what's going on with the Mac nodewebkit, any weird settings, or is it just incomplete? I've seen people say its glitch graphics, for me, my game has nearly all the sprites turned to black aside from the font but of course works perfectly on chrome (new Mac mini and older Mac book pro give same results). It's a pity its not closer to how chrome works.alspal2013-05-26 09:57:58
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 10:19 am

@Arima: isn't Canvas2D - Software as opposed to WebGL - Hardware ?

@alspal: If it is like for PC, this issue sounds like a lack of graphic drivers update.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 10:49 am

Everything utpo date, note how I said its perfect in Chrome but unusable in nodewebkit.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 7:37 pm

@Kyatric - canvas2d is hardware accelerated as well, it's just webgl does it better, for reasons I'm not entirely clear about. Chrome/chromium's software rendering uses swiftshader, a technology that emulates hardware rendering in software, so apps think they're being hardware accelerated when they're really not.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Mon May 27, 2013 5:43 am

Kyatric, Arima...thanks for the feedback. So canvas2d is also hardware accelerated? No wonder I was confused!

So this still begs the question of ,how do you know if you are using hardware or software rendering. Can you actually force the browser to use one or the other for testing purposes?
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,899

Post » Mon May 27, 2013 7:30 am

Looking into it, it appears the swiftshader issue was already addressed: http://www.scirra.com/forum/webgl_topic51770.html

It seems though there was at least at the time no built in way to detect it, Ashley already put in checks by watching what OpenGL was doing to try to deactivate it.Arima2013-05-27 07:32:44
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Mon May 27, 2013 3:44 pm

Reading up on it more, from the OpenGL website, if OpenGL is not properly installed:

"Without drivers, you will default to a software version of OpenGL 1.1 (on Win98, ME, and 2000), a Direct3D wrapper that supports OpenGL 1.1 (WinXP), or a Direct3D wrapper that supports OpenGL 1.1 (Windows Vista and Windows 7). None of these options are particularly fast, so installing drivers is always a good idea."

So even if swiftshader is avoided, it doesn't necessarily help much. It's a shame we can't just install OpenGL with the application.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests