The Business license

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:38 am

@mina: It's from a legal point of view.
I read this topic again. Now, since it is a business license, the license is issued to your manager (in his name).

As Ashley said a few posts ago :
[quote]1) issue it in your name, so you can use it on any machine but only you can use it, or[/quote]
That's what you did, but the problem is that the manager is not the one using the software.
If you'd like to use C2 on more than one computer, but you (mina) is the only person working on C2, then the license should rather be in your name than your manager's.
This way, you're using the license as intended.
But if you're not the only person to have to use C2 than you have the second option:
[quote]2) issue it in the name of your organisation, so anyone can use it, but only on one machine. [/quote]
Change the name of the license, to the name of the organization.
You'll have C2 installed on one and only one computer, but anyone in the organization can use it.Kyatric2011-12-22 09:39:20
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:37 am

Thanks again @Kyatric

I really appreciate ur help all the time we need it
But my question is how does the software knows that this is Mina or some one else? It depends on what?mina2011-12-22 12:08:21
B
303
S
6
G
5
Posts: 163
Reputation: 12,152

Post » Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:38 pm

It depends on the name on the license. That is all.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578

Post » Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:36 pm

IRIS-SCAN!   
B
14
S
2
G
6
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,849

Post » Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:45 am

Ashley, you explained this nicely on the forum, but it would be helpful to add it to the License FAQ page. It's exactly the information I was looking for, but I had to Google just to get sent back here to find it.

" There are two ways to use a business license:

1) issue it in your name, so you can use it on any machine but only you can use it, or
2) issue it in the name of your organisation, so anyone can use it, but only on one machine. "

B
2
Posts: 1
Reputation: 177

Post » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:26 am

[QUOTE=kstarks] Ashley, you explained this nicely on the forum, but it would be helpful to add it to the License FAQ page. It's exactly the information I was looking for, but I had to Google just to get sent back here to find it.

[/QUOTE]

I second this. After hearing about the discounted sale me and a friend were looking into buying the business license under the impression that we and a couple of others could use the one license as a team on our own separate machines. After reading through this thread though it's my understanding that in order to work in a team and on different machines, we would have to have our own license each and then upgrade to a business license if we made over $5000, is this correct?

That said, if we were to work as a team and release games using our individual licenses (registered to our individual names), but under the one banner of our studio name, would the fact we use individual licenses affect us in any way, legal or otherwise?

Just want to make absolutely sure as all!:)
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 237

Post » Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:54 pm

[quote]1) issue it in your name, so you can use it on any machine but only you can use it, or

2) issue it in the name of your organisation, so anyone can use it, but only on one machine. [/quote]

We don't make games in the traditional scene of the word, we are making interactive content to be used along with other content. to replace Flash content we use now. in testing Construct 2 seams like a dream and fits our needs.. However, I'm totally confused / concerned about the licencing. Obviously we need a Business licence but

Explain this...
In the case (1) "Named" employee leaves company (or changes departments) what happens to licence and all product created for company under that "name"?

In the Case (2) "machine" is replaced with new machine (happens often in a company like mine) do we have to buy a new license every time we change machines?

This is a MOST confusing licencing structure, It may be a deal breaker for my upper management, So I would like some clarification.
B
8
S
2
G
2
Posts: 3
Reputation: 1,893

Post » Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:39 am

Oops... may have made a mistake during purchase after discussion with management here. Can I write in to request a license change from "one employee on any machine" to "any employee on one machine"?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 1
Reputation: 277

Post » Wed Mar 25, 2015 10:35 am

@tdcitecc

You would probably get a much quicker response if you email support@scirra.com directly. This thread is quite old.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,844
Reputation: 48,289

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AllanR, Zebbi and 4 guests