The Multiplayer Dev. Cycle "?"

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
The official Scirra Multiplayer Signalling Server for helping peers find and connect to each other
  • I'm new to Construct and I really like what I see here. My dilemma is that I'd like to try and use it to create a turn-based persistent multiplayer game. I can wrap my head around the design just fine, until I get to the networking portion.

My question to whomever is listening is this. What's the BEST way to dev. a game which you fully intend to become multiplayer (down the road)? My thoughts are right now to Construct it in a "hot-seat" format and then worry about the networking down the line. (perhaps when there's a plugin)

But, is this the best approach to take? Will I run into a lot of snags? I just would really like to get started on it at least... then if I'm satisfied with the design I'll incorporate maybe podsixnet, MySQL, html, etc.

I guess what I'm asking is, is it necessary to work the game as net-able from the ground-up given Construct's abilities?

• I would recommend using functions to control any multiplayer aspect of the game. Later when its time to incorporate python, or a plugin, or even local multiplayer, you could change the way you achieved multiplay, without having to worry about it affecting anything else.

For example:

you could make either a construct function or a python function, whichever you're most comfortable with:

GetPlayerInputX, this function would take in a value for the player number, and output a value for how much the x axis of the control for player is being applied