The new Cocoon beta - now open!

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:28 am

Hello,

We fixed this error. It was caused by the dev-app plugin. It should work fine from now on.
cocoonjs-plugin-updates_p946004?#p946004

About minification, we are having a look at it. About WebGL and scaling issues, there is a fix explained here:
cocoonjs-plugin-updates_p939689?#p939689
B
9
S
4
G
4
Posts: 383
Reputation: 3,616

Post » Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:51 pm

@ludei I've tried compiling my game twice but all I get is a black screen after the splash.

I'm not using any additional plugins, it's just a vanilla plain old construct2 exported game.

I tried once with the default cocoon settings and once with the white list plugin removed.

Both tests were on my Android galaxy s5, with canvas+ targeted.

What do I need to do to get a working compile? It works without any tweaking using Intel xdk & crosswalk but I'd love to try cocoon to see if I can get any extra performance
B
6
S
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 508

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:15 pm

@robothousegames

I had the same issue, but only found half a fix.

I had the same issue as you where the black screen occurs after the cocoon splash. So after a lot of trial and error, I got my first layout to load fine. I dunno what exactly the right setting is but what I did was :
- WebGl ON
- unbounded scrolling - NO (test with YES and see if it makes a difference)
- Physics - Box2D web
- Loader style - Percentage text
- Not related to the issue, but apply the fix explained by Ludei right above your comment . The second link.

Now I say half a fix cause if your project uses the Physics behavior, it won't load. It will remain black no matter what. My second layout uses Physics and If I transition to that layout, I get the black screen. So I assume there are 2 separate black screen issues. As for now there is no mention of a fix for the physics issue.

Note that this is only with Canvas. You can get the Physics to work with Webview+, but it's pretty much unplayable.
B
16
S
4
Posts: 140
Reputation: 1,458

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:51 pm

@Pandy , wow thank you, that's a comprehensive reply! I'll try these asap
B
6
S
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 508

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 7:46 pm

AlexFrancois wrote:@ludei

here's a screenshot from @thatserafimkid demonstrating the same issue

thatserafimkid wrote:Image
This is the error i get in the developer app.
-I've exported with cordova,
-set minify off
-deleted the config and intel addition files
-put everything in a www folder and zipped it(ive also tried it without putting it in a folder)
-I uploaded to the cocoon site, selected canvas +
-removed the whitelist plugin(I also deleted all cranberry plugins from my project)

I don't know where else to go from here. I keep getting a black screen and that error in the debugger.

Any suggestions

Did you find a solution for this? I get the same error.

Thanks
B
10
S
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 558

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:04 pm

Can anyone please tell me which size the resulting apks have for a basically empty project? Thanks :)
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 788
Reputation: 3,788

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:32 pm

From what I remember Cocoon's Canvas+ added around 10MB to your projects.
B
49
S
15
G
6
Posts: 534
Reputation: 7,195

Post » Thu Dec 31, 2015 12:47 am

Cocoon.io only added around 6mb to my game size.
Image
B
12
S
2
Posts: 91
Reputation: 862

Post » Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:15 pm

TGeorgeMihai wrote:From what I remember Cocoon's Canvas+ added around 10MB to your projects.

Big Infinity wrote:Cocoon.io only added around 6mb to my game size.

Thanks, that sounds promising.
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 788
Reputation: 3,788

Post » Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:49 pm

Is this currently a good solution for android development? I'm trying Cordova/XDX right now but am getting some issues with google play and apparently it doesn't support IAP. It also adds 20mbs to the app size which isn't really conventional for the smalls apps I'm producing. It looks like the addon library is also really solid

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/4802/c ... s-services

But before I jump all into I want to hear if it currently has any major issues. Thanks!
B
71
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,350

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests