The Official Introduce Yourself Thread

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:22 pm

Hello, everyone! I have been learning Construct for a couple months (Thanks to all the guys that made the fantastic tutorials and examples)

I'm interested in turn-based games with Construct, so I am going to ask many questions that should have obvious answers.
B
3
S
1
G
2
Posts: 8
Reputation: 866

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:12 pm

Hello!
My name is hermann Kayode and i try to create some games since ages.
But not chance until that.

My skills are more drawing oriented/concepts

I heard it's very easy to do a platformer with construct 2.
so i'm picking the free edition and hope it's will work.

I hope the .EXE file is very solid (hard to crack) and i hope i can sell games with the free edition.
B
4
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 580

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:23 pm

@airman4

Welcome.

There is no .exe exporter yet for Construct 2 - it is purely for HTML 5 web games at the moment.

Construct Classic can produce .exe export but has greater installation requirements - see faq.

Re: exe being hard to crack - it is not really protected and would require some other method of protection such as one of the many exe wrappers/encryptors.zenox982011-09-01 14:26:02
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,843
Reputation: 48,287

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:49 pm

Ok

I dont know well the html 5 web games.
I'll try to make the game first and if it's convaincing , i'll buy the necessary installation

because i think only html for selling is limited.

thanks for answers.
B
4
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 580

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:56 pm

[QUOTE=airman4]
...I hope the .EXE file is very solid (hard to crack) and i hope i can sell games with the free edition.[/QUOTE]

The free edition cannot be used for commercial purposes, if you want to sell your games you need to buy the standard/business license.
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:05 pm

Ok, using construct classic for commercial purpose?
It's possible? or i have to buy the standard/business in any way?
B
4
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 580

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:09 pm

Construct classic can be used for commercial purposes :) It is completely free.
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:13 pm

Thanks very much.

Stupid question again
Tutorials of construct 2 would work with construct classic?

edit
doesnt work classic
d3dx9_39.dll missing.airman42011-09-01 17:36:06
B
4
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 580

Post » Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:32 pm

Hey everone! My name is David and I'm a new Construct2 user. Been using the demo for around a week and just bought the software yesterday.

Love it so far! Keep being awesome :)
B
14
S
3
G
2
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,893

Post » Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:59 pm

[QUOTE=airman4] Thanks very much.

Stupid question again
Tutorials of construct 2 would work with construct classic?

edit
doesnt work classic
d3dx9_39.dll missing.[/QUOTE]

It sounds like you need to install DirectX 9.

Keep in mind that any Windows version beyond XP does not already come packaged with DX9, and it must be downloaded separately. I already have DX10 you say? You still need DX 9 :)

When you install Construct, it should prompt you to install DirectX... you should say "yes" to this option if you previously skipped it, perhaps thinking it was not required.

Hope this helps.

@Dabbijo
Hi, and welcome to the forums :)

~SolSoldjahBoy2011-09-03 19:00:18
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

PreviousNext

Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest