The Video Tutorial Thread

Post your own tutorials, guides and demos.

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:05 pm

Alright, I think a thread like this could be _really_ awesome. Basically, the rules are: Explain a feature or something that you've just found out using the wonders of video (and audio, heh!).

I'll start. I'll quickly go over how to set background music for a layout and a sound effect for a certain event. Here we go:

My video tutorials will be stored here:

http://www.thomasmahler.com/files/const ... io2_01.avi (20mb)

Edit: Youtube Version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kBa5hXlphI

http://www.thomasmahler.com/files/construct/

And maybe I'll just youtube 'em.

Also, I'm still a beginner with Construct, so I'll most likely screw up here and there or not use the most efficient solution in some cases, but I hope that doesn't matter - we can discuss better ways of doing things based on the 'screwed up videos' here as well, which could be a cool learning resource. The idea is just to get this sort of dynamic going, since learning through videos is probably the fastest way to learn.
B
S
G

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:09 pm

Interesting! I'll take a look.
B
S
G

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:35 pm

This is a great idea! It'd be really useful to have a list of mini video-tutorials on how to do simple tasks. We could list them on the wiki as well to help new users. What do you think?
Scirra Founder
B
S
G

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:39 pm

That's what I was thinking. If every user adds a couple of video tutorials based on real time scenarios, we'd quickly have a pretty awesome documentation.