There is a problem with publishing to windows 10

Ideas and discussion about publishing and distributing your games

Post » Sun Jan 01, 2017 7:08 pm

There is a problem with publishing to windows 10 in visual studio 2015. There are so many error messages and I haven't touch a thing
B
4
Posts: 2
Reputation: 206

Post » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:58 am

Shouldn´t windows 10 run an exported nw.js? Or is it a mobile you are referring to? It´s hard to follow these days as I guess for example windows 8.1 can be a phone too? (yeah I am getting old and stupid)
B
30
S
15
G
17
Posts: 137
Reputation: 10,873

Post » Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:05 pm

Unless you provide a lot more detailed information, such as exactly what you're doing and the text of any error messages, nobody can help you.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,644
Reputation: 196,095

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:40 am

@Ashley can you answer my question? Does windows 10 need some special export?
B
30
S
15
G
17
Posts: 137
Reputation: 10,873

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:16 am

New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
296
S
119
G
96
Posts: 7,332
Reputation: 71,306

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:29 am

So, it seems that with windows 7 it´s impossible to make an export for windows 8.1 or windows 10. Is it really so?


Edit. I did a normal export to nw.js which produced the 32 win and 64 win versions. The 32 version did work on windows acer 10 switch tablet that has a win 8.1. So I wonder is there any benefits for exporting it to win 8.1 especially.

It´s confusing as there are mobiles that are also called win 8.1 or windows 10. Or maybe they run as well as pc?
B
30
S
15
G
17
Posts: 137
Reputation: 10,873

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:06 am

Yes, you need Windows 10 to export to Windows 10. It's Microsoft's limitation, not ours.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,644
Reputation: 196,095

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:10 am

Ashley wrote:Yes, you need Windows 10 to export to Windows 10. It's Microsoft's limitation, not ours.


Ok. Windows 8.1 is not needed to export to windows 8.1? This limit is ONLY for windows 10?
B
30
S
15
G
17
Posts: 137
Reputation: 10,873

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:57 am

For the Windows Store, you always need at least the same version of Windows or newer. However given the much larger install base and improved UWP support it's probably best just to aim for Windows 10.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,644
Reputation: 196,095

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:11 am

Ashley wrote:For the Windows Store, you always need at least the same version of Windows or newer. However given the much larger install base and improved UWP support it's probably best just to aim for Windows 10.


Can windows 10 still run a win 32/64 version as win8.1 can?
B
30
S
15
G
17
Posts: 137
Reputation: 10,873

Next

Return to Distribution and Publishing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest