Things about Image editor.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:56 am

i agree with most points, and would mostly like to see this implemented: @Ashley

- shift + click on "guess collision polygon" - for whole animation (instead of frame by frame -.-')
- adding imagepoints on whole animation then renaming it - renames only the first one - they should be "connected"
- deleting the same way as above

+ all the other things that people mentioned.


now Ashley told me that the best usage for spriteshitting is 2^n -2 x 2^n -2, for example - 512x512 should be resized to 510,510, because that's 2^9-2 x 2^9 -2. Now i've tested some stuff in my game and guess what? it's really saving up memory, depending on your resolutions quite a lot.
I've exported default (huge animation of 150 frames each 512x512) and i got - 10 spritesheets 2048x2048 + 3 x 1024x1024 pixels which gives all together - 45088768 pixels. now do the math 32 bit per pixel - 1442840576 - divide by 8 for bytes, and 1024 for kb and another 1024 for mb - 172MB.
after that i resized for these 2 pixels so now i exported again - and i only got 10 spritesheets. So now the usage is - (10 x 2048 x 2048 * 32)/(8x1024*1024) = 160MB

therefore we've saved 12MB of memory usage. But the overall download size increased because spritesheets had more data in them - from 10MB to 16MB.

Of course that this seems a little, but take your whole game - let's say 200 sprites with 2-3 animations - 400-600 animations with 50 frames - 20 000 frames - you could save a lot!
Sea Monsters template - Isometric
Also includes 40 pages PDF of optimizations and "how-to" for your games, and how the "sea monsters" template was built. Follow link for details :)

sea-monsters-templates-and-assets_t162705
B
43
S
14
G
12
Posts: 626
Reputation: 9,450

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:12 am

Bumping this because C2 could do with more usability. I'm working with a lot of animation frames atm and the image editor is a right terror to work with. Nothing else in the design process takes nearly as much time or is so tedious, so I hesitate to label this a low priority issue. Doesn't seem like a low priority if it's by far the biggest cause of delay in progress!

Also would like to suggest a drag-and-drop possibility for frames between animations, but failing that the copy & paste option would be welcome.
B
52
S
24
G
18
Posts: 295
Reputation: 13,090

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:37 am

One year, one week and one day have passed... still no word from Ashley about any of this. I think this means we can all forget about that thread cause it's useless. C3 will come out sooner then any of this will get to C2.

Oh yeah, I forgot. Image editor get 3 new icons (external editor, link, reload) yey, let's celebrate.
ImageImageImageImage
B
158
S
66
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,868

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:28 pm

If other things are really taking up too much of the team's time then I think Scirra should consider hiring another person(s) to take care of issues like this. Right now C2 seems to be gearing itself more towards making super-simple mobile games instead of a full-on game engine for all kinds of projects. Cool I guess, but I would've really liked some simple tweaks like this instead of "more ways to export to mobile" or whatever.
B
52
S
24
G
18
Posts: 295
Reputation: 13,090

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:44 pm

shinkan wrote:One year, one week and one day have passed... still no word from Ashley about any of this. I think this means we can all forget about that thread cause it's useless. C3 will come out sooner then any of this will get to C2.


Unfortunately this seems to be a bit of a case now. But then again it's somewhat understandable given how, apparently, "the community" wanted MP the most, plenty of time and resources were spent on it and now barely anyone uses it. It's unfortunate, but hardly surprising that Ashley seems to cherry pick what he'd like to implement.

C2 has a good deal more small extra features than CC did, even some things I had made for CC as plugins - this is really cool. And yet many of these things seem a bit like "check mark" features - yeah, we got an editor, yeah, we got tilemaps, we got this and that. Not all of it works right, not all of it is made with actual usage in mind, which is a shame. Perhaps getting some talented individuals to fix these things up wouldn't be such a bad idea - a single person can only do so much and have so much inspiration for a given thing.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:45 pm

I have a question about the image editor, and if the answer's no I'd also like to request it as a feature for whenever "Construct 3" comes out lel

Is there a way to effect mass changes to imported sprites and sprite sheets? For example, in Construct Classic you could select a color to turn transparent when importing sprites, useful for automatically getting rid of any default background color they may have. Would also be nice if this extended to an entire "replace color" function so you can select multiple colors throughout all frames, in case you need to select more than one and do more than make it transparent.
B
52
S
24
G
18
Posts: 295
Reputation: 13,090

Post » Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:57 pm

Three years, couple of months etc etc... later. I guess I was right...

shinkan wrote:... C3 will come out sooner then any of this will get to C2.
ImageImageImageImage
B
158
S
66
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,868

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:32 am

:(

one thing I ran into is the image editor not keeping fractions for collision points; example: x position of 12.3 would become 12 when closing/reopening image editor.
, and various display/selection issues with frame/animation duplication.
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,127
Reputation: 38,395

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:50 am

@Prominent hehe Almost every time I have exactly opposite problem xD While trying to set x/y to integer values it always gives me fractions, especially when you are zoomed in and trying to set it up using a mouse.
ImageImageImageImage
B
158
S
66
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,868

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:26 pm

oh yea, and another issue is when your drag it to a position, and then try to increment the value by one, it gets reset to the position you dragged from, which defeats the point of dragging it. :(
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,127
Reputation: 38,395

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests