Things about Image editor.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:36 am

@newt it's actually true. While making sprite sheets C2 adds now a fringe for each image to get better seamless results (it was added few releases back). Which is great but a bit strange approach, because you can't make perfect p^2 textures anymore. You need to make them a bit smaller to fit p^2 on export... Which again in some cases can be problematic.
ImageImageImageImage
B
158
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,003

Post » Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:44 pm

I guess technically it shouldn't matter if the textures aren't p^2, just so long as the sheet is.
That doesn't make it any easier for asset management however.
I think the best solution would be to have the 2px padded images on their on sheet, one that didn't need to tile.
The other options are the ability to turn off sprite sheeting, turn off the 2px padding, or give the user the ability to make their own sheets.
The last being the least likely since it rules out the padding thing.
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
182
Posts: 8,439
Reputation: 115,097

Post » Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:56 pm

Exactly. Most game engines operate usually only on p^2 textures. So while you make your graphic assets you can aim for 1024x1024 for your character sheet and you know exactly how much space you have and how many frames you can fit into. But here's not the case. You can more less estimate if your final animation fit in 1024^2, but you need to know that before you start designing your assets. And if for some reason you forget about "extra fringe" then you will get nice surprise after export, because your arts were 2 pixels two big You ended up with 2048^2 half empty sheet.
ImageImageImageImage
B
158
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,003

Post » Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:20 am

I totally agree this would make it worth the $155.99 i would buy it in a heartbeat if it has this feature.
Oh even better would improve this is a grid mode to see where and what your drawing in the frame the grid mode could be toggled on and off.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 134
Reputation: 1,001

Post » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:41 am

+1

All good suggestions. The image editor could do with some upgrading since it's the only way we have to arrange animations atm.

I'd like to add another one: Make the editor able to import/reference external sprite atlases. Right now we can't make sweeping changes to entire animation sequences at a time. Say you need to do a color/contrast tweak to a set of 350 non-uniform sized animation frames. Only way to do that right now would be to tweak and re-import the frames one by one, whereas with access to external sheets we could make the changes in photoshop/gimp/whatever in 5 minutes. I realize this likely won't happen since it would probably mean some hefty changes to the internal workings of the editor, but it would be great. To work with animation-heavy games is a real pain in the rear without it imo.
B
40
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,649

Post » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:47 pm

@ErekT

Not the most elegant solution, but wouldn't it be possible to batch process those kind of changes and drop the results into the animations folder directly?

Also, what about 'link to original source file'?

https://www.scirra.com/manual/48/image- ... ons-editor
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 am

@TiAm
'link to original source file' doesn't help for the scenario I'm talking about unfortunately :/ You'd still need to edit the frames one-by-one even if they're stored somewhere outside the project.

How you mean batch process? Is that something that photoshop and the like supports?
B
40
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,649

Post » Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:28 am

@ErekT Google something like "Batch edit" Photoshop has a feature where you make the edits you need to a image then you select the batch setting select the images you need edited. It then uses the history to redo everything you edited and apply it to all frames. its great when you need to edit alot of images with the same thing. Most images editors ive used have similar support built-in or through 3rd party plugins.
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:05 am

@ErekT

Ah, I see, you are talking about batch processing itself. For gimp, there's BIMP:

bimp-batch-processing-export-for-gimp_t119726
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Sat Dec 06, 2014 10:51 am

@volkiller730 @TiAm
Thanks, I'll take a look :)
B
40
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,649

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests