Thinking of returning to C2 - some questions

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:58 am

Hi everyone,

Before I start, I must say that Construct 2 is the reason why I'm a game developer today. Without it, I'd never have learnt the principals of game dev that I apply now. With that said, I moved over to Unity for a first-person 3D game that I've spent nearly the last two years on. I'm now thinking about taking on a side-project in the form of a side-scrolling 2D platformer. I looked at the many ways of doing this in Unity, and, being the non-technical developer that I am, thought that Construct 2 is probably a more suitable platform on which to develop.

Bearing in mind I haven't touched C2 since r208 (June 2015), I've got a few questions that I'm hoping the community can answer for me:

1) How is support these days? Still going well enough? On that note, is C2 stable?
2) Is there any (speculated or otherwise) ETA on Construct 3?
3) Are there are must-have premium addons/behaviours/etc. that I should look at for a side-scrolling platfomer?
4) How is Steam integration on C2?
5) How's performance looking for standalone(exe) builds? Are we still at the mercy of Chrome's wonky WebGL support?
6) Anything else you can think of?

Really hoping that you fine folks can give me the answers I'm looking for. I know that the forums were a huge part of my progression as a developer when I was most active with C2; I'm hoping that's still the case! Thanks!
B
S
G

Post » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:24 am

GeometriX wrote:1) How is support these days? Still going well enough? On that note, is C2 stable?
2) Is there any (speculated or otherwise) ETA on Construct 3?
3) Are there are must-have premium addons/behaviours/etc. that I should look at for a side-scrolling platfomer?
4) How is Steam integration on C2?
5) How's performance looking for standalone(exe) builds? Are we still at the mercy of Chrome's wonky WebGL support?
6) Anything else you can think of?