Tidekit - Native vs. HTML5, they promise no difference

Discuss game development design and post your game ideas

Post » Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:34 pm

I stumbled upon this a few days ago:
TideKit
It promises Native performance for HTML5 apps, is that even possible?
As said, im not 100% sure if this is actually something doable for C2, if it is, and it works, it would be awesome :)
If you are to lazy to checkout their homepage, but love looking videos, check out their video about TideKit.
Little side note: TideKit is the former TideSDK.
So, it could be something, or couldnt, let's wait and see.
- Conti
Last edited by SgtConti on Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:38 pm, edited 6 times in total.
"It's done when it's done"

Shadows of War
Buy on Steam ;)
B
S
G

Post » Mon Mar 31, 2014 2:29 pm

It sounds like a ton of buzzwords and zero technical info. A hype-machine at best.

As an engineer, I see all those photos of happy people with first names (all common ones, not even one weird name - it's as if they invented those names) written below them and think "istockphotos.com" instead of "happy customers".
Edit: Just like I thought: http://www.rgbstock.com/bigphoto/2di5nt ... p+Kenson+2

I see "deploy on the desktop/mobile/web" together with "HTML5,CSS,PHP,MySQL" and think "do these guys even know the difference between front-end and back-end?". Looks like they did a google search for "web technologies" and put all the names they found as bullet points on their page.

Most of their "platforms" are variations on a theme:
  • 4 versions of windows
  • 4 versions of OSX
  • 2 versions of iOS
  • 2 versions of Linux
Gee, well guess I can't import that to my debian/slackware/chromebook/windows phone then, can I?