Tighten and fix controls

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:44 am

Forum search didn't help me much, but maybe my google-fu is off today.

I'm using Platform behavior. The controls need to be tighten. I tried using Physics with Platform, but it just made the hero vibrate.

I implemented WASD keys using platform simulation, but only Jump works. Left and Right don't work.
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:48 am

Remove physics. "Tighter" controls can be achieved by increasing acceleration and deceleration. May I see your .capx ?
B
19
S
7
G
2
Posts: 188
Reputation: 2,846

Post » Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:20 am

[QUOTE=christina] Remove physics. "Tighter" controls can be achieved by increasing acceleration and deceleration. May I see your .capx ?[/QUOTE]

Thanks! Here ya go: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pqa0d5dm5oad6mt/athletic.capx
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:57 am

yeah, controls seem ok to me. You haven't played with the Platform behavior controls at all (i.e. acceleration, deceleration, max speed). I suggest you read the manual on Platform behavior.

Good luck!
B
19
S
7
G
2
Posts: 188
Reputation: 2,846

Post » Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:25 am

[QUOTE=christina] yeah, controls seem ok to me. You haven't played with the Platform behavior controls at all (i.e. acceleration, deceleration, max speed). I suggest you read the manual on Platform behavior.

Good luck![/QUOTE]

Thanks, here is the manual for anyone wondering. Good luck on your game too!
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:27 am

[QUOTE=nickkname] [QUOTE=christina] yeah, controls seem ok to me. You haven't played with the Platform behavior controls at all (i.e. acceleration, deceleration, max speed). I suggest you read the manual on Platform behavior.

Good luck![/QUOTE]

Thanks, here is the manual for anyone wondering. Good luck on your game too!

nickkname2013-04-14 04:28:55
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:26 am



Jump and pause/unpause game work, but not moving right or left. Is there a way to fix it?
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:34 am

I think the moving left/right controls should be "key is down" conditions and NOT "on key pressed." Otherwise, it only triggers for a single tick.
B
90
S
32
G
14
Posts: 935
Reputation: 14,540

Post » Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:37 am

[QUOTE=C-7] I think the moving left/right controls should be "key is down" conditions and NOT "on key pressed." Otherwise, it only triggers for a single tick.[/QUOTE]

Thanks!
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blackhornet and 4 guests