Tiled Backround Not Found Issue

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:51 pm

Link to .capx file (required! If link is blocked remove the http and www parts):
http://MY CAPX

Steps to reproduce:
1.Not sure if can be reproduced
2.
3.

Observed result:
I observed that my capX file would not open when i tried to open the file.It told me that somehow my tiled backround was renamed or lost.
Ive looked around on the forums to see who else had this issue and came across a few different posts.
I do not have any software that scans and deletes files automatic




Expected result:
Save the file correctly


Browsers affected:
saving issue not browser issue
Chrome: yes/no
Firefox: yes/no
Internet Explorer: yes/no

Operating system & service pack:
vista

Construct 2 version:
158.2
    RookieDev2014-01-19 22:52:44
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,378

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:00 am

Have not seen how to make this happen, but it's thankfully easy to recover (in case you or others need the info)



Just UnZIP the Capx file and add some random image into textures folder with the name ground_invisable.png

After that, you can start C2 by double clicking EnlightenLand.caproj ).

Now it should open normally on C2 and I'd expect editing/saving etc to work normally.
Need help? Upload .capx file with your question.
B
16
S
4
G
2
Posts: 233
Reputation: 2,560

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:39 am

@Joannak I tried to unzip it and it did not work for me.Thats when i posted here.I really dont want to lose my project,I have been working hard to get it right.First it was a WebGL Slowdown from Chrome then i get hit by this and i dont even know how it happened so i can avoid it next time.
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,378

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:54 am

@RookieDev

I have Uploaded the capx I saved to my Dropbox .. Please DL and test if this one works for you. I seem to be able to open it fine.

As what originally happened to your save, I have no idea.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/878hwql2u3aybc9/Tempo.capx


PS: For the record, I use 7-zip, Win7-64 system with latest C2 . Joannak2014-01-20 01:56:04
Need help? Upload .capx file with your question.
B
16
S
4
G
2
Posts: 233
Reputation: 2,560

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:05 am

It happened to me two or three times for past year or so. Never bother to post it as bug cause it's hard to say if it's C2 fault and it's an easy fix.

If we speak about missing images there is one more thing that occurs very rarely.
@Ashley sometimes, and really very rarely, after closing image editor all frames in particular animations can change to 1x1 empty pixel frames. It happened twice for me in past month and few times altogether in past year but I was not been able to reproduce that. And again it's an easy fix for that, just need to "Reload files from disk" for corrupted animation and all goes to normal. Just want to share this issue if someone else will get this too.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
42
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,343

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:12 am

@Joannak Thank you so much!! You dont know how i felt when that happened to me at first.I was in shock that my capX wouldnt open for me.
thank you man,i owe you big for this.
@shinkan i hope that the animation bug does not happen to me :0
Thank you for sharing that information aswell,it will come in handy for everyone.
@Joannak I tested it and it does work now,Thank you for helping me get everything fixed.I felt like i lost progress these last few days.I Hope @Ashley can figure out what causes that error.RookieDev2014-01-20 02:21:10
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,378

Post » Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:19 pm

There is really nothing we can do without steps to reproduce. The project is already corrupt and tells us nothing other than the file is missing. We need to know how the file went missing in the first place.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,433
Reputation: 194,635

Post » Fri Jan 24, 2014 8:00 pm

@Ashley Thats the thing,I dont know how it came up missing.
I saved,then exited the program,Loaded the program and it said i was unable to load it. @Joannak revived my project and for that i thank him so much.I really dont understand how it happened but im very sure i did nothing to my own system to delete the file.
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,378


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests