Tilegrid Plugin IDEA

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:41 pm

[quote="Doppel":2hosc11r]Yep i think Construct Dev's dont want to make this project as "RPGmaker" in that way its more flexible and yet its easy to create applications on it, and if you want make more advanced operations on it, you use Script feature.

PLEASE dont make Construct in to Pop-quiz Program for ex.
"What do you want to create?:
[X] Zombie Game
[_] Rpg Game
[_] Sport Game
[_] Platformer Game"[/quote:2hosc11r]

It's like saying to make your own movements, not have the pre-made one.

If you want to use the advanced grid object, use it, if you don't want, make your own from scratch. After all is a plugin, made to simplify things.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:07 pm

Ok this last sentence was a joke, and i will use Advanced Grid Object if it will be available (and useful), im just saying "Not there? Make it!" but thats just my rant/opinion.
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 719
Reputation: 2,938

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:57 am

[quote="Doppel":4afrput6]Ok this last sentence was a joke, and i will use Advanced Grid Object if it will be available (and useful), im just saying "Not there? Make it!" but thats just my rant/opinion.[/quote:4afrput6]

Sure, just give me a few years to learn C++ and some time to learn the SDK first.

Who knows, maybe by then Construct will reach 2.0 or even 3.0.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1,756

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:23 am

[quote="deadeye":1puifmae]So if it's possible to make in Construct, and reasonably easy to do so with a little effort, then why request it as a feature? I just don't see the reasoning behind it.[/quote:1puifmae]

It isn't reasonably easy to do. If it was, I wouldn't be requesting it.

You can make a pseudo (fake) grid engine with a lot of work and a bunch of events where you manually have to calculate where the center of each square on the "grid" (each and every single x/y coordinate) is to move your character (which would likely result in an event sheet that takes up the whole screen) but that's just tedious and haphazard, and not to mention just isn't practical.

Also, that C++ and Allegro comparison that was made before is irreverent. If you were using C++ or any actual language, you'd be able to code an actual grid engine that loads tiles from a tilesheet, moves things according to the grid automatically, etc.

Construct by itself does not have that ability unless someone codes it in via the plugin SDK or editing the source code.

Since I cannot code, I am requesting that someone help out and add this functionality.

And that's what should happen. I don't see why anyone is objecting to as basic and essential as this. Even MMF has a grid object.

If you won't use it, then fine. Don't use it. I actually think you need it more than you're realizing.*


And about the rest of what you said. I'm not saying for Construct to make a game for me. I am saying that there is no way in hell I can learn something such as C++ and believe me I've tried. I need menus to click on, I cannot remember syntax or languages for the life of me. Call me lazy if you want, but I am not going to learn C++ anytime soon.



*Edit: Another thing you might not realize is this. A Tile Grid object can directly be used to make a level editor for games. In fact, by requesting this, you are also requesting the ability to add level editing to games. If you've used MMF before you'd know that it's almost essential to have a grid object for such a thing.

If you're not familiar with what I'm talking about, The way it works is. The user uses a preset series of parts (different tiles for slopes, straight surface, etc) to create a level. The data of where each tile is stored and which one is used is stored in an INI file which then can be distributed as the level. Then through a series of events, the grid object loads this data and arranges the tiles accordingly to each square where they were originally.

This is one of the many uses a tile grid object has. It isn't something you can just make up in the event editor. You may be able a pseudo tile engine for an RPG or haphazardly for a strategy game (like Advance Wars), but not everything else it is capable of doing.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1,756

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:21 am

In fact, I think rather than a grid object there should be something integrated into Construct itself.

If you notice, on the layout tab, you can toggle a grid on and off and edit the size of it.

Rather than this grid just being just something that is part of the UI of Construct, you should be able to use it in the event editor.

Like there is an option to move things according to X (or Y), there should be an option to move things according to the grid (to the next square, or specific square in the grid, etc).
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1,756

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:38 am

Perhaps a function for GridX(#) and GridY(#), and use that grid in Construct to do that?
Then you could spawn the appropriate objects at the right grid spots, move according to that stuff, etc.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,735

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:22 am

I think a tile object would be a useful addition - especially with for-each cell, and storing data in cells - it would help simplify events. I'll add it to the todo list.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:28 am

[quote="Ashley":37d3odxu]I think a tile object would be a useful addition - especially with for-each cell, and storing data in cells - it would help simplify events. I'll add it to the todo list.[/quote:37d3odxu]

:D Now I can make my puzzle games !
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:20 pm

[quote="machrider":29ttfrw8]
It isn't reasonably easy to do. If it was, I wouldn't be requesting it.

You can make a pseudo (fake) grid engine with a lot of work and a bunch of events where you manually have to calculate where the center of each square on the "grid" (each and every single x/y coordinate) is to move your character (which would likely result in an event sheet that takes up the whole screen) but that's just tedious and haphazard, and not to mention just isn't practical.

If you won't use it, then fine. Don't use it. I actually think you need it more than you're realizing.*[/quote:29ttfrw8]

The bolded part there... I'm sorry, but I kind of chuckled at that one. If you're afraid to have an event sheet that takes up a whole screen then your games must not be very complex. Not that that's a bad thing, but you're talking about advanced activities such as creating level editors and such.

And no, I don't need a grid object because I can do basic math. And while you do have to "calculate the center of every single x/y coordinate" it's not as hard as you're making it out to be. Since you're so keen on using MMF as a comparison, here's part of a program I made in MMF that shows how simple it is:



This shows how you can place a square cursor with a mouse click exactly on a grid sized 32px by 32px. This is for a grid that starts at 64,32 and ends at 544, 352. It doesn't need the grid object, because is uses a simple mathematical formula to find where the grid should be (mouseX/32*32). Finding where a target should move to (such as a character walking) is also a simple matter of having them move towards whatever their current location is + 32 pixels. Hey, what do you know? Grid movement. You could do this in Construct just as easily.

[quote="machrider":29ttfrw8]*Edit: Another thing you might not realize is this. A Tile Grid object can directly be used to make a level editor for games. In fact, by requesting this, you are also requesting the ability to add level editing to games. If you've used MMF before you'd know that it's almost essential to have a grid object for such a thing.[/quote:29ttfrw8]

This might come as a shock but the example I posted above is from a level editor I made in MMF that - surprise - doesn't use the grid object. Though I never finished it, it moves the cursor in a loop in steps of 32px, detects what is under the cursor, and writes the tile type to an array. The array then saves the data to a file.

[quote="machrider":29ttfrw8]Construct by itself does not have that ability unless someone codes it in via the plugin SDK or editing the source code.[/quote:29ttfrw8]

As I have demonstrated, Construct does have the ability. You don't, because you're stuck on this idea that "it's too hard." If you can get over the idea that it's too much work you'll see that it's really not as much as you thought.

[quote="machrider":29ttfrw8]Even MMF has a grid object.[/quote:29ttfrw8]

Yes, and it's not the godsend you're looking for. You can test if x, y is over a cell. Easy enough to do with math. You can test if x is in column, or y is in row. Again, basic math skills are all that are needed for that. To set a sprite at row 4, column 5 of a 32px grid you do this:

[code:29ttfrw8]
- Sprite:Set X to 4*32
- Sprite:Set Y to 5*32
[/code:29ttfrw8]

If you have variables for "row" and "column" instead of the static "4" and "5" then you've just made yourself a basic grid placement engine.

As for useful actions, MMF's grid object can set cell values and clear cell values. This can be easily achieved with the addition of an array.

I'm sorry, but I'm not just saying boo to be contrary. I've actually put some thought to the matter. Would a basic grid object be useful? Yes. But only to save yourself two or three steps that can be made with events. Since it's not saving any appreciable amount of work then it's not really all that useful. Should it be implemented some time down the road? Sure, I don't see why not, but there are more pressing concerns.

*Edit: Whoops, missed Ashley's post. Well, there you go.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:10 pm

Deadeye: the maths behind it is easy, but it would still be a useful object. It's essentially a special case of a 2D array that also corresponds elements to a position on the screen. Also, in Construct, the expression:

MouseX / 32 * 32

defaults to floating point division, so has the same effect as just setting to MouseX. You'd have to use round(MouseX / 32) * 32.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests