Tilemap multi-tile-pickup bug / crash

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 6:52 pm

Problem Description
Shift + RightClick + Dragging to "pickup" multiple tiles with different angles/states rarely works and often crashes C2.

Attach a Capx
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/105 ... p_bug.capx

Description of Capx
Has a few tile groups with rotation, mirroring, and flipping for you to test on.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Shift + RightClick + Drag over a group of tiles in the layout

Observed Result
The highlighted tiles are rarely picked up properly, if at all. This will inevitably crash C2 over time (usually 5 or so attempts).

Expected Result
Highlighted tiles and their proper states should be picked up.

Affected Browsers
C2 Editor

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 8.1

Construct 2 Version ID
r208
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:56 pm

I'm using 208 and I can't select tiles at all when I hold shift + right click + drag over tiles.... It doesn't freeze but nothing happens, no tiles are selected and it just pops up the right click menu when i get to the end and release mouse. Can't figure out if I am doing something wrong or not
B
63
S
12
G
6
Posts: 456
Reputation: 8,969

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:02 pm

I have the same problem. I'm running on Windows 7 64x SP1. I can't use the feature at all, when I try to shift+rightclick the program freezes when I let go of RMB, once it froze my whole computer.
B
20
S
8
G
4
Posts: 195
Reputation: 3,555

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:05 pm

Same as @Tokinsom here.
As soon as I make the selection and release right mouse button C2 freezes for 2-4 seconds and then crashes (every time).
Shift+right click on single tiles works normally.

Win 8.1 x64
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
64
G
41
Posts: 2,590
Reputation: 34,640

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 11:37 pm

Same. Feature does not work.
B
50
S
11
G
7
Posts: 274
Reputation: 8,146

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 11:55 pm

Yeah, mega glitchy. Never got it to work right, and finally C2 crashed....hard. Like 'my mouse isn't moving right' hard. :shock:

I looked at the process in task manager...and it was using 7.4gb of memory. #memleak :?

Different question: Is it working okay for anyone?
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

Post » Sat Jun 20, 2015 12:38 am

@TiAm I got it working on a horizontal strip of rotated tiles...once :P In my game with 8x8 tiles it would pick them up but the zone and tiles were all wrong. I really hope it's not too difficult to fix, else Ashley might can the whole feature D: Frankly, the best feature C2 has gotten in months in my opinion lol.
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:09 pm

Looks like it hangs if either the start or end tile is a transparent one. Oops. Should be fixed in the next beta.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,248
Reputation: 192,228

Post » Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:23 pm

was this ever fixed? i cant get it to work wright here. First or last selected tile arent transparent.
B
38
S
11
G
5
Posts: 485
Reputation: 5,340

Post » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:55 am

@fldr The crash was fixed, yes. The feature is still busted though...
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest