Tilemap object questions & concerns

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:55 pm

@alspal - oops, I think the debugger doesn't count tilemap collisions at all yet. Will fix that for next build.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:07 pm

It doesn't matter if I put the 2nd tilemap on another layer or not. Or whether they touch each other --though the idea is one is superimposed over the other --like a "layer" in RPG maker which allows you to have a tilemap for the floor and another on top of it for the walls and objects...

No matter what, If I create a 2nd tilemap object, the tile editor refers to the 2nd one only. I can simply no longer edit the tiles of the first tilemap object. AND no matter what, I'm editing the 2nd tilemap object.

Either there is a way and I just haven't figured it out or

Construct is limited to only one tilemap object or

this needs to be fixed.


I would really like to be able to have a tilemap that just has shadows and lighting effects that I can paint on top of my first tilemap. Or if collision is involved, have a tilemap for the floor where colision is ignored, and have another for the walls and objects.
Follow my CZero development on twitter https://twitter.com/CaptainZeroGame
B
62
S
17
G
5
Posts: 171
Reputation: 8,329

Post » Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:09 pm

BTW I LOVE the tilemap plugin! Just would really like to be able to edit more than one.
Follow my CZero development on twitter https://twitter.com/CaptainZeroGame
B
62
S
17
G
5
Posts: 171
Reputation: 8,329

Post » Sun Dec 15, 2013 9:22 pm

I was testing the tilemap object with Font Awesome icons...


...white icons were a bit tricky to place.
B
12
S
3
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,354

Post » Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:07 am

My understanding is that a tilemap is used as a layer. But yeah.. there definitivly a bug where the editor think he is using the tilemap2 if you add 2 tilemap objects.
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 190
Reputation: 2,489

Post » Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:22 am

@sinistar99 I had that exact same problem until I learned that you can choose the different tilemaps to edit from the z order bar.
B
61
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,986

Post » Fri Dec 20, 2013 2:26 pm

Oooh! Ok I was wondering no matter what I did it just kept editing that first one... thanks!
Follow my CZero development on twitter https://twitter.com/CaptainZeroGame
B
62
S
17
G
5
Posts: 171
Reputation: 8,329

Post » Mon May 11, 2015 4:40 pm

@tokinsom -

"4) Will we be able to "copy" tiles that have already been placed (like right-clicking a tile in Tiled)? This is very useful for laying down certain patterns to place elsewhere, and keeps you from having to go all the way to the tileset to pick a tile."

"5) Will there be hotkeys for the tools? (At the very least right-click to erase tiles?) "

@Ashley - "4-5) The current tilemap editor is very much a first iteration. We'll be improving it over time."

I think that this is still a good question? Has there been any updates on this front? I was messing around with the tilemap plugin and it seems like 4 still haven't been addressed. #4 isn't just a handy feature- I would call it necessary. Making maps in tiled kills workflow when a game "needs" levels that work with game mechanics. ...and lets face it... a copy tool within the plugin should be easy to make....

In the end, it's little features like this that make all the difference.
Image
B
33
S
11
G
2
Posts: 564
Reputation: 5,153

Post » Mon May 11, 2015 4:54 pm

@Ruskul YEP....I've brought up the copy/paste tiles feature a dozen times since. Ashley finally added it a few builds ago...for one single tile. I mentioned copy/pasting groups of tiles and he said he'd see what he can do. That was about 2 months ago. Meanwhile our game's levels remain largely unfinished and simplified.
Image
B
243
S
30
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,770

Post » Sat May 16, 2015 4:49 pm

@Tokinsom - I must be missing something, how do you copy the tile then? I didn't see a relevant portion in the manual, but then I only glanced quickly at it. I wish just a little more work would go into the tilemap. In all honesty, I know how hard it can be as a single developer, but I feel designing levels in construct 2 should be as smooth and seamless as possible. Saying that construct 2 tilemap is to tiled as the construct 2 image editor is to photshop is a bad comparison. It's easy to switch between photoshop and construct. It's not so easy to always be switching from tiled to construct.

BTW, I have had some relative success editing other vanilla plugins to make them more robust (physics for one thing). Many changes can be simple to implement and won't break existing projects. Usually, I end up reading through them so I can argue with Ashley in a more informed manner about what needs to be done (I'm sure that's not annoying in the least). But anyway, if it becomes a productivity issue (as I think the no copy blocks or move existing tiles around will be) I may see If I can add the feature myself.
Image
B
33
S
11
G
2
Posts: 564
Reputation: 5,153

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests