Tilemap object questions & concerns

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat May 16, 2015 5:21 pm

@Ruskul I know man. We have 10+ very large 8x8-tile-based levels to build and it's incredibly tedious without being able to right-click + drag to copy/pickup numerous tiles. This one little feature will save us a whooooole lot of time and trouble.

Anyway, to pick up a single tile right now you hold shift then right click.

C2 has lots of "hidden" hotkeys like this. Not sure how many are in the manual though; I haven't had to read it in a long time.
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Sat May 16, 2015 8:29 pm

@Tokinsom do you have a list of all the tips and tricks for tilemapping? Lately I've been using the tilemap object quite a bit.
ImageImageImageImage
B
62
S
19
G
51
Posts: 633
Reputation: 30,826

Post » Sat May 16, 2015 8:47 pm

@DatapawWolf Not entirely sure what you're expecting, really ^^: They're just tiles after all. One interesting thing you can do is pin tilemap objects to solids for moving platforms and such. So that's kinda cool. There are tutorials on animated tiles too but I just use sprite objects for that. As for tips...you can select tilemaps from the z-order bar. I prefer to keep each type in its own layer though (graphical tiles, collision tiles, terrain type tiles, etc).
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Sun May 17, 2015 12:50 am

I was more wondering if there were any more hotkeys and shortcuts I may have missed. I've got a pretty good system down, otherwise. :) Even got floor transitions working! But oh God that took a while,hahah.
ImageImageImageImage
B
62
S
19
G
51
Posts: 633
Reputation: 30,826

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2016 5:55 pm

Just posted this on another thread but this one seems to be the "official" tilemap questions thread.

Just found all the Tilemap hotkeys which really makes it a lot faster to build maps without constantly going back to the Tilemap bar itself. But the issue is this:

"As my designer and I noticed while building a map, you can hold shift and right click to copy a tile ( or multiple tiles).
BUT it doesn't work with tiles that have been rotated / mirrored / flipped. Seems to only work with the original tiles in the Tilemap object."

So the question is: is it possible to make it so that you can directly copy those rotated tiles ? Or would this be too much hassle in the code ?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 8
Reputation: 343

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2016 6:02 pm

Tokinsom wrote:@Ruskul I know man. We have 10+ very large 8x8-tile-based levels to build and it's incredibly tedious without being able to right-click + drag to copy/pickup numerous tiles. This one little feature will save us a whooooole lot of time and trouble.

Anyway, to pick up a single tile right now you hold shift then right click.

C2 has lots of "hidden" hotkeys like this. Not sure how many are in the manual though; I haven't had to read it in a long time.


@Tokinsom

why you don't use tiled? it's a free software that can allow you to make a map very easly (copy a portion of map ...etc) and later you can import in contrusct2 with the map done...
B
21
S
9
Posts: 298
Reputation: 2,967

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2016 6:40 pm

@Ribis Because it's a totally impractical workflow. You shouldn't have to do a bunch of exporting & importing with extra files and 3rd party software just to modify one single tilemap. On top of that, you lose all reference to your other objects and tilemaps in the layout when you bring one over to Tiled for editing.

Imagine if you had to do this with Photoshop. Say you're working on something with 4 different layers but Photoshop doesn't support scaling so you have to select the layer, export it to a new file, open up a 3rd party tool, import the file, scale up the image with no reference to the other layers, export that file, go back to photoshop to import the file, then repeat for each layer. That would be completely unacceptable...yet for some reason people think it's fine here.
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:25 pm

Tokinsom wrote:@Ribis Because it's a totally impractical workflow. You shouldn't have to do a bunch of exporting & importing with extra files and 3rd party software just to modify one single tilemap. On top of that, you lose all reference to your other objects and tilemaps in the layout when you bring one over to Tiled for editing.

Imagine if you had to do this with Photoshop. Say you're working on something with 4 different layers but Photoshop doesn't support scaling so you have to select the layer, export it to a new file, open up a 3rd party tool, import the file, scale up the image with no reference to the other layers, export that file, go back to photoshop to import the file, then repeat for each layer. That would be completely unacceptable...yet for some reason people think it's fine here.


when I was using tiled for making one level with 5 layers with 5 different tilemap, I was making all of the map with tiled, and when I finished the map, I just export and import inside construct2... the workflow was faster than use construct2 for making map... I don't like to make map inside construct2... in my opinion is better to use a specific software to do the works... when I have to make an animation I use different software than construct2 (you can use construct for making animation, there is any problem) but with another software is better... anyway it depends how the game is...

(anyway is just an import, you can setup everything in tiled and after that you can import the map with the tilemap inside construct2)
B
21
S
9
Posts: 298
Reputation: 2,967

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest